Recipes: Eggless Brownies

eggless-brownies1Brownies are admittedly and undeniably delicious, but I tried them only for the first time almost a year ago, when somebody made eggless ones for me for my birthday. Yea, sixteen years, no brownies. She thought it was sad too, I won’t blame you. Now I’m starting up my kick of enjoying baking brownies myself, starting out with this recipe. 

Ingredients:

  • All purpose flour – ¾ cup
  • Granulated sugar – 1 cup
  • Salt – ¼ teaspoon
  • Baking powder – 2 teaspoon
  • Unsweetened Cocoa powder – 1/3 cup
  • Unsalted Butter – 1 stick (½ cup), melted and cooled
  • Yogurt – ½ cup + 2 tablespoons
  • Vanilla extract – 1 ½ teaspoon
  • Chocolate chips – ½ cup, optional
  • Chopped Walnut – ½ cup, optional

Going to note this right now, I mostly prefer to make this as a double batch, the yield is a lot more.

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Melt the butter on stovetop or in microwave then set aside to cool
  • Prep the baking pan (8×8 in single batch, varied when doubled) with a parchment sheet to line it and spray with pam. This makes it easier to take out after baking
  • Whisk together the flour, sugar, salt (I don’t bother if it’s salted butter) and baking powder
  • Mix well
  • Using a sifter, sift in the cocoa powder
  • In a separate bowl, mix the melted butter, yogourt and vanilla until well combined
  • Add mixtures together, I suggest a spatula. Don’t over mix
  • Add your choice of chocolate chips or nuts
  • Pour into baking pan and smooth over.
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Time varies on batch size
  • Allow it to cool completely before cutting then cut into sizes you want, store in a sealed container.

I really do love this recipe I just tried it earlier today and instead of normal chocolate chips, I used white chocolate. I’ll let you know my thoughts. Extremely moist and delicious, enjoy!

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

