Review: Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant

messenger-of-fear-michael-grantI remembered my name – Mara. But, standing in that ghostly place, faced with the solemn young man in the black coat with silver skulls for buttons, I could recall nothing else about myself.

And then the games began.

The Messenger sees the darkness in young hearts, and the damage it inflicts upon the world. If they go unpunished, he offers the wicked a game. Win, and they can go free. Lose, and they will live out their greatest fear.

But what does any of this have to do with Mara? She is about to find out . . .


five star

How do I sum up this book? I am completely fresh from reading it, it was a shorter read than I normally have so it took even less time to finish. Basically, I started it and then I finished it. No in-between. I had no time for this because the entire thing was so intriguing.

All of it and I’ll do my best to do a decent explanation of it all. Not to mention it was a horror-fantasy and that only made it all the more interesting. In my mind it wasn’t all that horrifying, gory yes with the imagery it created, but I’d say it depends on the person in that way. Especially in books, what horror is to one person is completely different to another. This one had both of the main points to it, descriptive gore and psychological horror. Psychological was of course my favourite. That’s the twisted person I am because the author was incredible at pulling me right into the story and making sure I felt and understood the character, along with the other characters. The imagery just added to it.

So I suppose from here I’ll rant to you about the characters. Our main character in this story, Mara, is one who I quickly began to like and relate to. The way she reacted to the situation she was put into was perfect, never too over the top or too much the idiot. It made her relatable in every single sense and it just became even better as the plot unravels in front of you.

Then there’s the other characters we are introduced to as it goes on and every one I met I found I appealed to. The ones that are slight antagonists were enjoyable one way or another for me. And I learned about them in various ways, just enough to appease my curiosity and to frustratingly add more to my growing list of questions.

That is exactly how I will explain the plot. Questions and mysteries. Frustration trying to work through it all alongside Mara. She’s in the dark just as much while all the other characters know something she doesn’t. Oh the irony. So whenever one question is answered, two more will pop up. Yet they are all answered perfectly. The flow of the plot was just right for the length of the story. Great build up and great reveals. The best part, the climax. I guarantee I will be reeling over that climax and ending for weeks to come. The next month even. I was completely, utterly stunned. And admittedly, when an author manages to do that to me, I know I had a good read.

Other than the plot, there’s the writing, which is without a doubt what truly wrapped the story up nicely. The descriptive writing was amazing, creating just the right imagery until I was easily creating the story in my mind, but still with that freedom that’s necessary. The gory details of course were given wonderfully, no crudeness to them by any means. All in all, it was complex and created the intrigue all on its own. I applaud and envy Grant’s abilities for writing and will no doubt work towards it at some point.

For recommendations I would of course send it to anyone who either likes horror, fantasy or both. A quick blurp for fantasy; the concept was neat and with great details hinting at more to come. Those who enjoy psychological twists along with the idea of justice and righting wrongs, definitely worth it to take a look at.

Also I think I should note, this is the first review I’ve done where I’ve given a full five stars. For me that’s a really tough thing. Initially I put in 4 1/2 stars then I thought it through. Searched for any true things that bothered me enough to take away points. At this point in time, I decided I needed to give in and hand off my first five star review. So there, congrats to Grant. And here’s a link to a video trailer of the book, here.

Note: This is a review transferred from my previous blog, meers2review.

Until next time,

Shayla

2 thoughts on “Review: Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant

Leave a Reply

