Review: Relentless – Book #1 by Karen Lynch

51ddjn3no8l-_sx338_bo1204203200_Sara Grey’s world shattered ten years ago when her father was brutally murdered. Now at seventeen, she is still haunted by memories of that day and driven by the need to understand why it happened. She lives a life full of secrets and her family and friends have no idea of the supernatural world she is immersed in or of Sara’s own very powerful gift.

In her quest for answers about her father’s death, Sara takes risks that expose her and her friends to danger and puts herself into the sights of a sadistic vampire. On the same fateful night she meets Nikolas, a warrior who turns Sara’s world upside down and is determined to protect her even if it’s the last thing she wants.

Sara’s life starts to spin out of control as she is hunted by an obsessed vampire, learns that her friends have secrets of their own and reels from the truth about her own ancestry. Sara has always been fiercely independent but in order to survive now she must open herself to others, to reveal her deepest secrets. And she must learn to trust the one person capable of breaking down the walls around her.


4-5-stars

Usually, I am very very hesitant when it comes to giving out 5 stars. I already understand and will say it now; others might not agree with me. But this book captured me beautifully and I couldn’t take off any points today. The Goodreads rating is 4.32 at the moment.

To start out this review, I’ll tell you about Sara, our main character and heroine. First though, bear with me because it has been nearly two months since I read it and considering I’ve read ten books since then, yea. Not so easy anymore. Lots of information and reviewing to sort through to say the least. I have to say the thing that probably makes this is the fact that Sara is her own person. And that person develops in all the right ways. This is series is an urban fantasy above romance and it’s because of that I’m sold on it. Sure romance is nice, I love the relationship that blooms between her and our dear Nikolas. I always need to love the characters much more.

One of my favourite parts to this novel, was the humour. Or more specifically the use of dramatic irony. Normally, dramatic irony is torture and frustrating. Kind of like horror movies where the character goes into the dark basement. You know they’re so dead, for some reason they don’t. I don’t watch those horror movies anymore. Frustration like that kills me.
In this case it was knowing things about Sara and just grinning in glee waiting for the ball to drop when some of the other characters realized. The protection thing from Nikolas was nice. Sara proving she was resourceful enough to protect herself was even better. And it just gets better on in the next books. (No spoilers, shush up Shayla).

Moving on, the take on creatures and supernatural in this book. Loved it. And the variety? tumblr_inline_mr7y7cntlb1qz4rgp

Could not get enough. The entire idea behind it was fascinating and leant so much more meaning to an otherwise typical idea. “Girl thinks she’s normal, girl finds out she’s not normal — boom she’s badass” Nope, not here. She does become badass. That part is nice. There was just so much more to that. Lynch’s character building skills are one of a kind and thinking back, Sara in the first then last book I read…it’s a change I didn’t notice happening until later. Just like how it works in real life when people grow and mature.

Better yet? Sara gets put in some shitty situations. And she’s not that powerful to start off with. But she makes use with it. Makes me think of Megan Chase in the Iron Fey series. The parallel is that they still make it out being strong and NOT a damsel in distress. leo-relief-gif

I will admit here and now, some ideas aren’t original as I mentioned before. But Lynch’s take and twist on them makes it different and better. I didn’t feel like I was reading the same old love story and the same old supernatural book. It was no doubt filled with Lynch’s personality. Love her ideas, kept it interesting. Not to mention relationships. I have to say her strongest suit to me in this book was portraying her characters and descriptions on different creatures out there.

That is all for now, so until next time,

Shayla

 

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Relentless – Book #1 by Karen Lynch

Leave a Reply

