Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

11870085Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Golden stars rating template isolated on white background.

No one kill me for this please, but this was my first John Green book. Nothing against the man, don’t know him so I’m not sure how I could. Simply that full romance genres have never been my thing. Usually romance was just an added bonus or nuisance into my adventure, action, urban fantasy, etc. BUT. I have way too many pushy friends and ended up reading this when the movie was going to come out.

That movie was also the second chick flick I have ever watched in my sixteen years of life. First being The Last Song.

After my read of it though? picard_clapping

Green you got me. Hook, line and sinker. I should have gotten into that book a lot quicker because it was new, bold and wonderful. I think my favourite part of The Fault In Our Stars, will always be Green’s writing. It’s what made this novel into something memorable. It’s been nearly two years, since the movie came out in 2014, since I read this book and that is what stays with me. The way Hazel’s character is formed. The author within the book. Above all els—e, the cut-off ending. As a writer myself, astonishing concept that left me wordless. It became a huge eye opener for how I could be writing. To how I might want to think when I right. Changed my perspective and will stay with me for a long time.

Heartstrings beware, obviously. I haven’t read any other of Green’s books and even I know; you don’t read his books without being prepared to be absolutely crushed by your own feels. It was most definitely a tear-jerker, even for me. And I only ever cry for animals. Seriously, Flicka, that movie and Eight Below, I won’t even watch now. Just can’t.

What accentuates this all of course is the quotes and sayings Green is able to come up with.

—“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”
—“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.”
—“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”
—”‘But I will say this: When the scientists of the future show up at my house with robot eyes and they tell me to try them on, I will tell the scientists to screw off, because I do not want to see a world without him.’ I was kind of crying by then.”

This made the love story. The plot and ideas otherwise, admittedly would have bored me otherwise. That is why I can’t give this a full five-star rating. I felt like I could have read a story much more in-depth from a survivor themselves, although Green did meet who Hazel was based on I believe. He did that beautifully.

Beyond anything though, it is the truth. The truth that Green gives us in his quotes. Whether they are love, life, sadness or in hate. Life comes to an end, whether we want to or not. Green’s poetic mastery explains this phenomenally. I had no choice but to feel alongside Hazel and experience a beautiful and heartbreaking love story. Wonderful without a doubt, I will always tip my hat to Green.

I recommend this novel to anyone really. Even if you’re like me and full on romance isn’t your thing, it’s a great start. The perspectives it gives is worth the read anytime. And of course, those romance/chick lit lovers, always go for it. When it comes to romance novels, Green might be one of the masters.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Leave a Reply

