Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

24445517Contains exclusive content: songs from Griffin Peterson.
Sydney is living in an idyllic bubble – she’s a dedicated student with a steady job on the side. She lives with her best friend, has a great boyfriend, and the music coming from the balcony opposite hers is fast becoming the soundtrack to her life. But when Sydney finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her, the bubble bursts. The mysterious and attractive man behind the music, Ridge, gives Sydney hope that she can move on and they begin to write songs together. But moving on is harder than she expects, Sydney can only hope…. Maybe someday…
Colleen Hoover draws you in to this passionate tale of music, love and betrayal…

The first book to be read and reviewed in my personal challenge.

5stars

Holy shit. How do I begin this? I am in way over my head with this challenge and I curse Michelle for having me read a true romance because gif-Ican't.gif
Seriously. See this-referencing myself even though I know you can’t see me-this doesn’t deal well with lovey dovey. Or with adorable and completely likeable un-awfulness. Rude. Just rude. I was bored at the beginning of this book.  Didn’t like Sydney to start, then Michelle gives me the tiniest of all spoilers and BAM. I’m locked in and reading and feeling emotions.

NOTE: Romantic Shayla needs to be shoved back into the dark abyss of her mind along with those other too cheery things. I will get it back in there, somehow. Maybe someday…see what I did there? Okay, I feel like Emilie with puns now so that Shayla hitched a ride out of the abyss too.

Back to my point, if I ever had one, this book tore me apart in ways I am not used to. It is a five star rating somehow, don’t know how, when it is nowhere near my normal loved reads. It is there for the characters yes. But not because they’re brilliantly heroic. Ridge and Sydney astounded me. These characters were just unbelievably true to both themselves and those around them in ways I couldn’t imagine. And the first half of Sydney’s story did manage to hit home with me, even if I wasn’t overly impressed with the prologue. It was a little too mopey and pouting without any context to produce sympathy for the girl. Was hardly enough for pity even. Cheating is something I take personally, it happened in my family and admittedly tore apart a little girl’s idea of love.

Then of course adding in a triangle like they did had the HUGE possibility to upset me. Yet it never did. Which screws me up because I expected it to. What I’m realizing now? Hoover made such a more mature read, hence New Adult, that I loved it. In typical stories even just on sites like Wattpad or Quotev. It would have all gone downhill and far too typical. Instead, Sydney and Ridge react stunningly and tug at my heartstrings while they’re at it. Now I’m not going near that book for awhile because my heartstrings need to be left alone. Especially when I get a beautiful scene like this:

“As many times as I’ve seen this happen in movies and read about it in books, I’ve never actually been picked up and carried by a man before. I think I’m in love with it. Being carried into a bedroom by Ridge is quite possibly my new favourite thing out of any and all things.
That is, until he kicks my bedroom door shut behind him. Maybe Ridge kicking doors shut is my new favourite thing.”

It made the entirety of the book worth the aching eyes to finish it within my spare today. Finished with a minute to go too.

Another aspect for me to love, was the music of course. As an avid music lover, singer and guitar player, Ridge caught my attention and some good modesty followed by gained confidence with Sydney made it better too. I might be listening to the songs (by Griffin Peterson) right now. Not only that but the aspect of creating music while being deaf that Hoover describes is spectacular. Loved it and while not deaf myself of course, I hope she did well for the deaf community in Ridge’s perspective because I believe she did.

That of course, leads me to my other love in this novel. I know enough about being deaf to say that it can be more of a gift than an inability. Sign language fascinates me and it’s a whole new world to me, magic. It shapes a different life. And different is not bad. The way this shifts the dynamic of Ridge and Sydney’s relationship is inspiring. Love it, it’s funny and almost made my own inner narration while reading go wonky. Applause to Hoover’s writing capabilities along with the creation of her characters.

I will be recommending this book in the future. To non-romance readers like myself because it is a mature, pleasant way to start it off and most importantly, memorable. In particular:

Maybe I’m not the hero to her I’ve always tried so hard to be, because right now, I feel as if she doesn’t even need a hero. Why would she? She has someone so much stronger than I’ll ever be for her. She has herself.”

Lines like this, took my breath away with the beauty of how they’re put and the message behind them. Loved it. This scene was one that made the book in my mind.

In regards to my personal challenge; lovely way to start it all off. I’m pleasantly surprised and giddy and locking away romantic Shayla still. She runs on too much. Sorry for that. Has anyone read this book before and thought the same as me? Differently? Love to hear your thoughts.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

  1. It makes OH so happy to read that you’ve loved this book ❤ Specially, because you are not a romance reader, so I think this is twice as good and it just makes me feel all mushy.

    I love CoHo, her writing and all of her books, but this one (and Ridge more specifically) has this something else that made me lock the memory of reading this story somewhere warm and fuzzy.

    Great review 🙂

    Like

    1. Trust me, I surprised myself haha. I have two friends that read all her books, I might check out more in the future, but I already feel like this one will stay in my favourites for romance. (as little as that list is). And thanks for the review and comment ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

