Mini Review: Reads From School

And the mini reviews continue, with books from school. Ah the classics. I normally wouldn’t bother with these kinds actually, but I found some of the ones I read this year and last much more interesting and insightful than I’d been lead to believe. Since I read them all awhile ago now, mini review is a bit easier. Hehe

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I realize my star rating pictures are different. It bothers me too, I just need to get around to getting one set. Bear with me please.

To Kill A MockingBird by Harper Lee

Golden stars rating template isolated on white background.

Ah this story was wonderful. It wasn’t my typical read obviously, it was from the school, but I was happy to read it. It brought on a perspective I could relate to much better describing a time of black vs white. Scout reminds me of my thoughts with a lot more innocence, why act so cold and cruel to people you don’t know because of their skin colour? Then her growth as a young girl, realizing the ways of the world and other people. Loved it, the story of Boo Radley sucked me in and the ending caught me forever. Memorable and well-written, a worthwhile read.

“Simply because we were licked a hundred years before we started is no reason for us not to try to win.”

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Golden stars rating template isolated on white background.

More than anything else, this book fits under the disturbing, but intriguing section. The development in the plot and everything that happens because of things that seem so simple; unforgettable. The split between young boys and the destruction of civilized behaviour. Then the way it escalates in wild, behaviour. Not to mention, the symbolism hiding behind everything happening. It was enticing and captured my interest. I was happy to get to read this.

“Maybe,” he said hesitantly, “maybe there is a beast.” […] “What I mean is, maybe it’s only us.”

Macbeth by William Shakespeare

3-star-review-rating

Shakespeare, I’d like you a lot better if I spoke your kind of english. I feel like I always lose a lot in translation with his books and that disappoints me because I know there’s always so much more behind every good book. This one impressed me a lot more than Romeo and Juliet, thank the book gods. Macbeth’s story was funny and ironic in my view. The entire twist on prophecy that leaves me stuck on the idea that it only happened because he was told it would. Love it and that’s what makes this a decent read for me. Plus, couldn’t help but love Lady Macbeth. My class also happened to do a hilariously stupid skit about it, made it all the better since we had a potluck that day too.

“Things without all remedy should be without regard: what’s done is done.”

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

5stars

This book…this book killed me inside. Curse you Hosseini for writing something like this. Where I want to hate the main character so much but I literally can’t because he starts out as just a simple little kid. Then you tear that kid apart into a grieving and scarred adult who can’t forgive himself. And the dad. Then, his best friend. That was what closed the five star mark for me. Because without a single doubt in my mind, Hassan made this story with who he was and what he did and ughhh. It still kills me with feels. The ending of this story…simply appealingly sorrowful. Ironic and still funny at times when the assholes get what’s coming to them.

“There is only one sin. and that is theft… when you tell a lie, you steal someones right to the truth.”

The one thing I have to say about all these books together; is they are memorable for the life lessons they have hidden in their pages. The quotes I’ve left can only begin to explain that and what they meant to me. What I truly hope others will see and learn from as well.
And….because the witches are my love of Macbeth because they really know how to stir up the preverbal shit-pot.

“Double, double, toil and trouble;
Fire burn, and cauldron bubble!”

tumblr_nkm6ndapjl1uofoqfo1_50016766496

Until next time,

Shayla

 

Leave a Reply

