Review: Iron Daughter – Book #2 by Julie Kagawa

7747064Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

Check out my review of the first book: Iron King Review.


Golden stars rating template isolated on white background.

And the series continued in the beautiful development of Meghan and who she is. I haven’t reread this series in awhile, I have too many new books to read after all. Literal pile by my bed and internet pile on my laptop. Never ending. So instead, a visit back to the Nevernever. By now, I can easily say this series has been topped by another of new reads, I’d like to say that’s actually a good thing. It means my reads are getting better and better. Nonetheless, it doesn’t take away from how much I enjoyed and felt with this series, this book included.

Of the entire series, I will admit this is my least favourite, but considering it’s still four stars…just-saying-gif.gif

I loved the look Kagawa gave into the Winter side of the fae with this one. Yes, we know Ash very well by this point, but finally I got to see what exactly made him into what he was. And I can easily say, the place shaped his outlooks a lot. That was both good and bad. Either way I enjoyed it. I’ve always had a thing for the blunt honest evil, why I no doubt loved Queen Mab and despised Queen Tatiana. At least Mab is honest that she’s an evil bitch who will freeze your guts with a smile. Err, her version of a smile at least.

Meghan being thrown into all of this of course left me with mixed feelings. I couldn’t help but dislike the way she reacted in terms of Ash and his behaviour. If she had been paying attention or smart, she could have figured everything out and saved a lot of hurt. That meant the first part of this book was just as intriguing as trying. Then the romance portion that follows really set me off. That is what took the star away for me because I thought it immature and pointless. Besides that though, I can also reason with it, because Meghan is still only a young girl and tossed into this situation as I’m reminded in the synopsis, it’s not a terribly surprising reaction.
Still, not to mention Kagawa’s go at the pointless love triangle. Thankfully, this one was always ignorable enough for me.

Without a doubt though, I am not letting go of the endless humour Kagawa seeps into this epic tale. Mostly curtesy of the most beloved Puck, ever the trouble maker:

“She pulled up Ash’s shirt, revealing a layer of gauze that was just beginning to seep blood onto the mattress. “At least the bandaging was done properly,” she mused. “Very nice, clean work. Your handiwork, I presume, Goodfellow?”
“Which one?”
“The bandage, Robin.”
“Yeah, that was mine, too.”

sqpg0
I don’t care what anyone else says, this was probably the best part of the book. Puck, you will always be amazing and god this story would never be anything without your presence.

Now getting back to business, I will lead on in to plot because hey, that’s always in the list for putting in a review.
Kagawa’s plot for the Iron Fey series has always been a good one. I always felt it turned and twisted in just the right ways to leave me off my seat or wanting to run away to curl up in a ball. For that, she will always get a round of applause from me. In this book in particular, it creates a lot of turning points towards the plot that the potential for was created in the first book. Great work was made out of that potential and it sends my heart into the skies with this. Like I said: first part of this book, I didn’t like so much. But beyond anything; the second part made up for it when it pulled me in and whipped me back and forth. Love, love, love.

And finally I have to say, while not a full romance, Iron Fey was one of the very first romances I fell truly and irrevocably in love with. Meghan and Ash leave me breathless time and time again. I love how they are with each other. Even better, they both have something to teach, and learn, from the other.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

One thought on “Review: Iron Daughter – Book #2 by Julie Kagawa

Leave a Reply

