Tokyo, Japan

This dream first began with my coming into the anime world and transition into a major Otaku. Anime is one of the best things that ever happened to me and eventually led to my interest in Japan itself. Let’s face it, Tokyo is an insane place and this is my perfect opportunity to know more about it. Selfish, I know.
tokyoTokyo
Capital of Japan
Tokyo, Japan’s bustling capital, mixes the ultramodern and the traditional, from neon-lit skyscrapers and anime shops to cherry trees and temples. The opulent Meiji Shinto Shrine is known for its towering gate and surrounding forests. The Imperial Palace sits amid sprawling public gardens. The city is famed for its vibrant food scene, and its Shibuya and Harajuku districts are the heart of its trendy teen fashion scene.
First of all, beyond that fact stuff up there ^ most of you know if you follow me, I live in Canada. Tokyo itself, has half the population of Canada. That is a city! That is insane. Canada is huge. I’m not even sure where the problem with this is coming from anymore. Too few people in Canada or too much in Japan?
Now, for all the book lovers out there, yes, my people out there, man do I have the discovery of a lifetime for you! I just found out about this literally last week. So try this on for size; you know a bed and breakfast. How about:

A Book and Bed
book-and-bed-tokyo-04-320x21310499124_1482051485435527_469862676_n

It’s an “accommodation book shop” based off the idea that the best moment of sleep is when you’re dozing off while reading. I don’t know about any of you guys, but finding out about this made me fangirl HARD. 4 500 yen ($40 USD) per night and all the books, comics, etc. you can get your hands on. It’s located mere minutes from a Starbucks, convenience store, pharmacy, aquarium, etc. The list continues. Follow them on Instagram for more pictures and info.

Then my own personal must visit in Japan itself is located in the city of Ise Mie; the Ise Jingu Shrine, the most sacred Shinto shrine. I discovered this place while working on my world religions IB project on Shintoism. This place created a lot of wonderful. It primarily worships the goddess Amaterasu Omakami, a complex or over 125 shrines put together with an inner and outer shrine. The inner is dedicated to Amaterasu also known as a supreme deity and ancestor to the imperial family. Ise Jingu is particularly sacred for the surrounding forest, the type of tree considered sacred and pure. Important when in Shinto, purity is the primary focus of the religion. For more on what to see at the shrine itself, click here.
I fell in love with the Shinto religion while studying it in-depth. It was a special type of religion that I felt had taken on some of the best traits from the religions around it, things like purity and equality. Beautiful and visiting this place would be the perfect chance for me to truly experience it.

Don’t know if I would ever make it here on time, but the Tokyo Olympics will be held in 2020, including the paralympic games. What better time to get to experience the Olympics while I’m experiencing another country across the world (Literally, it’s 12 hours). The Olympics are an amazing event and as a sport lover, not just fun, but inspiring to watch. I can’t even begin to imagine the training these people go through.

Moving on even further, the technological advancements in Tokyo alone as Japan is the third largest economy in following USA and China. For example, aa company invented the freezing of certain fruits, before unfreezable without ruining them. Now made possible with their new, too scientificy to explain for me, tech. Also, they have teenagers getting involved with entrepreneurship. In camp, up to 100 boys and girls working together to create working apps from their own ideas. And I’m too lazy to explain this one, but check this out! slide_image_unicub_honda_600-100504781-orig
So cool, I want to try them. Yes I am whining a wee bit now. You would be too if you were looking up all the stuff I am about Tokyo right now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I plan on seeing as much as possible. Both from the tech side to the older era style of living. Things like the largest and busiest fish market in the world is something I found on sites.
SUMO wrestling. Yes, must. Weird and such a media edited western site, I want to see the real deal. I’m tired of only seeing it on Scooby Doo.
Yoyogi park. Best sight after a long day in the busy as hell city of Tokyo followed by Shinjuku Gyeon National Park.  tokyo_yoyogitokyo_shinjuku

I also want to simply check out the city life in general of course. So much to do so little time. I want to see Tokyo itself and everything it has to offer within the modern parts of the city. After all, this is a place of massive technological advancements. tokyo_shibuya_tout_b

Of course I can’t forget the entire reason Tokyo ever got onto my list of destinations. Anime! I already have a site with the ten must see otaku shops (just remember, for those who don’t know otaku = someone obsessed with anime, manga, etc). 10 best otaku shops in Tokyo

Out of specific places and based off of the religion route; I want to learn more of the culture. That in particular is probably the strongest thing behind my urge to travel the world. I want to see and understand all the other cultures in the world as much as possible. And Japan has one of the oldest and most complex histories in the world. It’s a fascinating culture that I can’t wait to learn more about someday in person. I can’t imagine never getting that chance to broaden my horizons in such a way.

I think that’s all on Japan for now, any places or adventure I missed? Do share.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

Leave a Reply

