Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

177884011When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Second book read and reviewed in my personal challenge.

First and foremost I should sooo not be writing this book review right now. Ever hear that term book hungover? Yea, bad state to write a review in. But I’m doing it anyways!5stars

Five brilliant, sexy, enticing, heartbreaking stars.

Processing is still happening as I’m writing this up, might be a bad sign. Do not know how to put this all together. Of course, without a single doubt this freak out is ten times better than any of the homework I have sitting in my bag. Or beside me on my desk…Anyways! Lovely, astounding book that left me thinking, not just feeling the feels. And trust me, I was drowned in feels from head to toe. No room to breath.

Especially not, when this book got hot and heavy. I can’t help myself so my review is starting off in the bedroom. And you can all blame Miles, our wonderful love interest who I admittedly created a love hate relationship with. But I’ll get to that later. At this moment I want to congratulate Hoover and her spectacular writing. Those scenes of sexy wonder were just that, wonderful and unforgettable. Not to mention unique. Anyone can write a sex scene. Only certain writers are capable of making them unique and fitting to the characters in a way I can’t begin to explain.
It’s writing a scene of intensity for two characters in a story. As an aspiring writer I already know; those characters need to be real and developed clearly for their intense scenes to work out well. Hoover took it to the next level. She created and contrived heart-wrenching and head-spinning scenes to leave a reader in tears and breathing heavy rolled up together.
Never before could I have imagined those two blending together so seamlessly in this book. It has only ever happened once so far and, truthfully, not to this level.

Hot sex scenes are not the only important thing of course, I think, maybe, yea, moving on. I will move on to the main character of this story, Tate. Ah Tate, I loved you. She is an analytic and determined individual with a mind of her own. And as someone like that myself, I couldn’t help enjoying her obviously. I realize, the way Miles treats her initially, isn’t one everyone will like. It’s not like he’s abusive, but he’s an ass. Except in my opinion, you need to look farther than that. And that’s exactly what Tate is doing throughout the story. She finds herself undeniably attracted to this guy who won’t allow himself to love. The situation Tate finds herself in was not easy and if you feel the emotions and the characters like I did, you come to understand why she makes decisions the way she does. My opinion on the case.
More than that though, it really was her personality that sold it for me. Hoover made wonderful characters, same goes for Maybe Someday, she’s a natural. It was marvellous to take on the story alongside Tate.

Another subject I have to touch on, is the technique Hoover took on for this. One chapter in the present day, Tate’s perspective and the next in Miles’ perspective, based in his past. This was what saved the story for me. Otherwise there’s a good chance I would have written Miles off as a major ass and left him to rot. Instead, I was forced to experience both sides of the story.
Far too easy to imagine Hoover’s thoughts on my frustrations: 200_s
Rude. Okay maybe not, I appreciate it, but still. Saviour of Ugly Love right there in the beginning. Also, it was a completely wonderful idea that added interest and intensity. And the part I cannot forget; thought.

I love books that make me think. This one took a few 100 yard sprints passed that line. Talk about philosophical thoughts of ‘why this’s, ‘what if’s and ‘how about’s. Too much. Especially with lines like this,

“My dad and her mom may not approve, but they’ll adapt.
Rachel may not be ready to be a mom,
and I may not be ready to be a dad,
but we’re adapting.
It’s what has to happen. If people want
peace within themselves,
It’s necessary. Vital, even.”
~Miles Archer (6 years in the past)

How can these lines not have gotten to me? How about the comparison of love, beautiful and ugly, the entire concept of it. Yes, I realize I just used a ‘how about’, hanging head in shame right over here.
I love love loved it. I want to think when I read. I want something to make me rethink the way my own mind works. Hoover did just that to me and if any of you guys want it, you need to go experience it for yourselves.

More than anything else of course, romantic Shayla fell in love with these two and their relationship. The struggles and hardships right beside the love and relentless sexy scenes. They were wonderful and fit each other so perfectly. I also loved the idea that love isn’t a specific kind of thing. It’s not set for just one person, you can love many and more than once. It’ll be a different love each time in its own way. That brings me back to love not always being pretty. tumblr_static_tangled_dreaming
Preach and keep talking because I am tired of love is the most amazing thing and isn’t ever horrible in other romantic stories. Ew. I can’t forget those heart breaking but beautiful moments like this one:

“I would say my heart is broken, but it’s not.
I don’t think it is.
Actually, I wouldn’t know, because my heart hasn’t
been in my chest since I left it
lying in front of his apartment…”

No words. Okay I guess that’s two. I’ve got nothing on how to express this quote. Go, little readers, read on and experience sorrow like the kind in the hangover I have right now.

I don’t think I have much more fangirl left in me at the moment. So that means this review is coming to a steady close. Definitely consider reading this book, out of genre or no. And I consider myself accomplished as I mark off the second book in my personal challenge. 7 more to go!

Until next time,

Shayla

2 thoughts on “Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

