Review: Iron Queen – Book #3 by Julie Kagawa

8685612The New York Times Bestseller
My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

Check out my reviews on the first two books here: Iron King and Iron Daughter.

5stars

Man oh man I loved this book beyond anything else. And what am I doing putting past tense in there because I still love it. One of the best fae/faerie books I’ve ever read and Kagawa just topped the series off flawlessly. Of the entire series, this book was absolute favourite for so many reasons. The action, the plot, the adventure, the romance and, the always unforgettable, angst/feelstumblr_inline_nljej9ouma1reqsxg

Okay. Okay. I’m good. Calming down now. Settling in. Took some time to find that gif, calmed down. Feel better, internet kind of annoys and doesn’t always work for me but that’s beside the point. I swear my tea doesn’t have much or any caffeine in it! It shouldn’t at least…

The characters in this series have always been phenomenal and of course one of my favourite parts.  I can hardly finish a series if I don’t like the characters enough. I’ve managed to finish some when I hated the main character but loved supporting characters enough to go on. Thank the book gods this was not the case. Kagawa makes up a beautiful dynamic between all of the characters in the Iron Fey series. From Meghan and Ash’s budding romance, the rivalry of Ash and Puck, to the Cait Sith known as Grimalkin. They are all amazing (Grimalkin in the best obviously) I mean just read this quote:

“Looks like nobody’s home,” Puck said, turning in a slow circle. “Hellooooooooo? Anybody here?”
“Be quiet, Goodfellow,” Ash growled, peering into the shadows with narrowed eyes. “We’re not alone.”
“Yeah? How do you figure that, prince? I don’t see anyone.”
“The cait sith has disappeared.”
“ … Crap.”

Just needed to point that one out to you all because yes Grimalkin is amazing. Anyone who says otherwise? Sorry, I don’t need that kind of negativity in my life. And neither does Grimalkin have a shit to give.

“Ash and Puck shared a brief glance, and then Ash pushed himself off the wall to stand beside me. “Lead the way,” he said, nodding into the darkness. “We’ll be right behind you.”
“For the record,” Grimalkin stated as we ventured, single file, into the black, “I do not think this is a good idea. But, as no one listens to the cat anymore, I will have to wait until we are completely lost to say ‘I told you so.”

Then there’s the development in this story, oh baby. My favourite stories are the ones I can reread and see for myself the transition and development of the character coming into a better person for themselves and others. The Meghan of Iron King doesn’t compare to this one, so this is my most reread book of the series. Best of all, the change is visible in the books. It wasn’t a “snap, now she’s more mature and stronger” instead it was gradual enough to not bore me but for me to watch it happen oh-so-happily.

Even more so, the relationship between Meghan and Ash. Fangirling over here because even now after so many books, they are one of my top, upmost amazing ships out there. They simply fit each other so well, and I’m pretty sure I said the exact same thing in my other two posts about this series. Oh well, gets a message across right?

The plot in this one hit all the notes it needed to for me too.
I was pleased beyond anything where it went and how it worked. I was off my seat, err bed I think, in anticipation of what would happen next. It was slowly killing me. But in that good, ‘authors are wonderfully cruel people’ kind of way. It’s that whole self-induced torture readers experience I guess.
I finally got to find out what I wanted. It was interesting. I was not bored at all during this book, even in the moments where it slowed down so development could take place. More than anything, the plot twist, even better. I will not be saying anything else so don’t worry about spoilers. The ending was amazing. Despite the fact that is tore my heart out of my chest and stepped on it a few dozen times. I loved and hated what happened but couldn’t disagree with Kagawa’s decisions. Thrilling and great read.

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

