Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

3 stars

I really do not know how to start this review. Seriously, I have the stars up at four right now and I bet you guys it’ll be down by the time I’m finished reviewing this book.

I really really wish I could say I fell in love with this book just like Throne of Glass, better/more than even.

I really really really wish I wasn’t such an honest person and thus won’t allow myself to only talk about the good in this book. The bad will be focused on.

More than anything here people, this is a bad case of broken expectations. As in, I expected so much more and did not get it. or the first time, Maas has let me down. That’s not to say it’s completely awful. I still thoroughly enjoyed the book. In between certain times that is. Frustration? Understatement. kfr4thsI felt like this poor kid over here. Because this book, this entire series, has so much fucking potential and I felt like it could have been so much more, but it just wasn’t. I was reaching at the bit, biting for more, but never got any. Struggle bus.

I’ll start out with what didn’t disappoint me here and that is the writing of Maas. Just like in Throne of Glass, she has amazing writing. I envy her abilities and can only dream of the day where I’m capable of doing something like that.  It’s why I was able to finish and still enjoy this book as much as I did. She builds everything up so wonderfully and the writing accents the plot and twists beautifully. I cannot critique anything in that regard. In writing, this book remains a five star in my mind.

Here’s where things just didn’t quite work.

It began really well in the sense that Feyre is a strong character and the love interest Tamlin just fits her perfectly. The pair are hilarious and funny and there character building is beautifully for the majority of this book. Cute relationship, both hardheaded, everything nicely leading up to a good romance. Some sweet side characters to add to it all. People like Lucien are perfect, well-developed and just fit into it all so well. The nasty characters as well are interesting and, well, nasty, but likeable for me.

It was the action and adventure side of this book that fell through so awfully. Again, concept began really well. Maas had a lot of secrets going on for Feyre to discover and work through. I thought it was the other characters that dealt not as well with the secrets. It could have worked out better, and the reasons they were being so iffy about it annoyed me immensely, even once  I got more detail on it later in the book.
Then there’s the delivery of our terrible antagonist. Again, so much potential it reeked with it. I loved the story behind the antagonist because there is absolutely nothing better than when a reader is made to feel conflicted about the evil guy because they know how they got there. In ACOTAR, I learned about the antagonist, but even then, they were made to seem shallow and without cause. Adding more to their nature, thoughts, ideas, anything and I would have no doubt fallen in love.

Then the last half of the book took an uber downfall in events and Feyre’s character. My expectations were shot right through to the core. tumblr_inline_mz91g75wzm1qbd7br
Basically ^^^

I thought Maas did a great job with the twist in the second half, making it interesting and hard for Feyre to defeat the villain. It was interesting, new and so fitting for the fae. Except she made Feyre into an idiot in the process. Making stupid deals, bargaining like a fool. I thought she was a lot smarter and Feyre had so much more potential, like so much more of this book it seems.

Nonetheless, the action was good. It was creative, hard-hitting. My heart was beating along with Feyre’s. I was anxious I felt for her and it was killing me slowly the way a good book is supposed to. I experienced it.

The ending of the book continued to be amazing. It hit me in the gut and had me fighting mentally alongside Feyre. The twist and massive realization was perfectly executed and I loved it beyond any doubt. I was impressed once again and it nearly made up for the awful bits in between.

All in all, this book has me stuck back and forth on my feelings for it. Due to the mixed feelings I’m deciding to continue reading the newest book, A Court Of Mist And Fury. I want to know what happens and to see if Maas will fix the disappointment that has been given to me. Stay tuned for that review when it comes around.

Until next time,

Shayla

2 thoughts on “Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

