Current Book Phase

This post was inspired by Daily Post Word Prompt – Phase

Because let’s face it, we all have different phases for different books, genres, writing styles, etc. That list can probably go on forever. I’d love to know why we do it, but I don’t know a book reader that doesn’t ever have some phase for a certain type of book at the very least. I mean where does it come from? tumblr_mkujv6ymbz1qjnucto1_400

Our minds literally decide every once and awhile, hey, I like that kind of book, I will only enjoy that kind of book. Frustrating but true. So as book readers we just sit back and live that life and other people question it and we’re just tumblr_inline_mwdpps8zkj1s7vmxe
“DON”T Care” 

At this moment, I am stuck in my own phase of books and it’s making my personal book challenge more difficult. I was trying to read books outside my genre. Now,  Ifind myself only able to read fantasy, from finishing A Court of Mist and Fury in a day, to currently speeding through A Creature of Moonlight. I am very very guilty to falling right into the phase without a care because, hey book good, I like book. Don’t mess with me and my book reading.  I am pure seriousnesstumblr_njhr21xlb51rygc5yo1_500

So anywayssss. Due to this phase I can no longer bring myself to read all the other books I have yelling at me by my shelf or even in my locker at school. I’m stuck halfway through Crank and cannot wait to get started on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children that a friend let me borrow.

I mean, I don’t know why I’m suddenly stuck on fantasy and that in itself bothers me. Why can’t I pick up an adventure or romance right now? Why are they not nearly as interesting as the fantasy? Yet weeks later I’ll be able to read them with the love and joy they deserve. It’s so weird!
Worse though…I don’t think I have enough fantasy books left.

People I will fall into emergency mode soon. I just got out of a new adult romance phase, now I’m stuck in fantasy and I need out. I’m going to run out of fantasy books to read. I don’t have anymore ready to read after the one I’m reading right now. What do I do??johnny-depp-panics

Help me. Book recommendations anyone? Love to hear them. Even more I would love to hear about your own book phases and struggles!

Until next time,

Shayla

4 thoughts on “Current Book Phase

  1. Been there, done that. I was all gung-ho about a Reading Challenge last year and it flew out of the window soon enough since I got stuck in my own reading phase (mysteries). I don’t mind it though it can get a little frustrating but I see the bright side and that is that I am reading and I’m okay with it 🙂

    Like

    1. I will read those other books someday I’m sure haha, it’ll just be taking longer to get to. That’s very true, I still appreciate the phases because they keep me reading and for book reviews, that’s always important for me

      Like

  2. My book phases tend to be by author: a Dickens phase, a Jane Austen phase, a John Steinbeck phase. If you like fantasy — imaginative world type books, you may like The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson. They are children’s books in the same sense as Harry Potter, meant to be enjoyed by children and adults alike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

