Discussion: Vatican’s New Decision

This post was actually inspired by another blogger and her post that was both inspiring and infuriated me for what it explained and detailed: Unchain My Heart: On The Emotional Effectiveness – and Lingering Sexism – 0f Jewish Divorce

The post added to my previous attention and frustration on the matter of sexism in religions. So let’s clarify where it began quickly.
I go to a catholic school, although I’m not catholic or religious in the least really. I respect it, but it’s simply something that’s not necessary in my life. This morning on the announcements after the national anthem and the morning prayer, she mentions excitedly on the PA system; “The Pope has agreed to allow women to be deacons.” Priests basically.

Now this is a pretty picture except for the one word added in there, by another woman no less, allow. So he is so gracious and amazing due to his allowing woman to do something that they should have been able to do in the first place. OR how about the fact, why hasn’t this happened earlier? Women have rights. Why is the church of all things taking so long to catch up in being holy and caring towards its peoples.
The main reason anger is hitting me so hard is very simple. My friend that is catholic, explained to us how when she was little, she wanted to be a priest and was told she couldn’t be, that priests were male, no females. I imagine she was less than ten years old at this time. How is that right in any possible way?

It sounds awful and convoluted and is upsetting.
All of this left me stuck on some very clear and disheartening questions.

Why would any religion put down the women?
Why do they make that their right?

The post by Sari Botton emphasized that to me and honestly I’d like to hear some thoughts. I know it’s not all black and white, I’m trying not to bash religions here. But when you disrespect and help to make an entire gender of people less, I lose a lot of respect. And when reading and learning about many, it just seems so common.

Not only that but with some further article reading, it sounds like there’s no certainty it will happen. The entire thing is a commission to study the possibility of women deacons, or deaconesses according to one article: Pope Francis’s Commission on Women Deacons: 12 Things to Know and ShareThen there’s another where there isn’t a surety in the women being ordained. The entire thing kills me and upsets me more and more.

What are some of your thoughts on this decision? Do you know more about it?
Let me know in the comments or contact me directly below.

Note: I realize this is a controversial topic, I mean no direct offence to any religious persons, this is what I see in studying multiple religions; woman being put down. I would love to hear contradicting opinions especially actually because I know this is not clear-cut.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

Leave a Reply

