Review: Frigid by J. Lynn and Jennifer L. Armentrout

16122034For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn’t anything new. They’d been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the ‘man’ in man-whore. He’s never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn’t want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she’s perfect and she’s everything. But the feelings he has for her, he’s always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they’re stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor’easter, there’s nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

2.5 stars

This book gave me a lot of wrongs that cannot really fix what was right. I will however start off with what I liked.

Armentrout/Lynn’s writing. Love it. It’s really nice and interesting and enjoyable. I cannot turn that down. I enjoyed the actual writing, everything else though is where I was let down. She could tell the story amazingly well. More than anything, I love her hot and sexy scenes. From intense and hot to soft and sexy they were amazing and drew me right in. I wanted more and loved it all the way through. Made me love the main characters and their interactions even more.

The relationship between the main characters was enjoyable, as in the way they acted with one another. Their interactions were funny, quirky and fun to read.

The plot. I could say what plot, but it wasn’t a struggle to find the plot. In any kind of book. nph-dissapoint

It was nothing special at all with nothing unique at all. I could pick up far too many romances with practically the same things. Harsh? Perhaps. I’m in a really harsh mood at the moment, even after just finishing a happy ending. This was nothing new at all. Girl loves boy, boy loves girl, neither admit it to one another, but everyone else knows it and ships it hard. Then some kind of circumstance brings them together. And the reason? Not impressive either. Even the extra bits to make the story a bit more intense or interesting were blatantly uncreative and I wasn’t pleased.

Characters themselves? Sydney was nice and sweet. Epitome of it even. She’s not experienced sexually. Of course though her counterpart Kyler is overly experienced. Slightly typical all over again.

Then I could go over the love relationship struggle. Again and again it was miscommunication followed by misunderstanding in the worse of ways. Sometimes those can be forgiven. A misunderstanding necessary. Sometimes is the key work because it did not work this time. It frustrated me more than anything. By the ending of the book I could say it wasn’t as bad at least.
Problem is it didn’t place a pleasant picture of Sydney either. She seemed blind and assuming a lot of the time as a result. I want to love my main character, not want to slap her upside the head more than 50% of the time. I will admit, she’s insecure and there’s nothing wrong with that. Most people are. But allowing herself to be stuck on a single word so strongly didn’t impress me the way it was delivered. I realize things like that stay with you, but I didn’t like the way Armentrout portrayed the insecurity. It could have been a lot better.

I liked the ending alright. Again though, it was nothing surprising. Typical, truth comes out, people hook up and do the bangy all over again. Nothing new. Wash, rinse, repeat; yawn.

Recommending this book is a hard one of course. I enjoyed reading it decently enough, it’s just that in a strict review, I can’t say very many good things about it about characters or plot. I’ve seen other reviews that were extremely positive though, so I am certain others, perhaps romance or contemporary lovers will enjoy this.

I must say, I feel I missed out. Michelle has talked a lot about her love of Armentrout and her books and I am sorely disappointed with this one. I will be trying again though. And that review will come. Some faith remains and we’ll see where it goes.

Until next time,

Shayla

2 thoughts on “Review: Frigid by J. Lynn and Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

