Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

20821111I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

3.5 stars

This book leaves me with mixed feelings, even when it’s been months after reading. I also really wish I had written this review a lot earlier, so who knows what exactly I’ll be able to go on. Here we go.

The idea was absolutely phenomenal. I loved it, it was cool fascinating and was really what caught my attention with this book. The synopsis portrayed everything so well. It sounded enticing and creative. I wanted to know more! Then a few things went wrong.

Adelina was actually a really good character, maybe a tad underdeveloped. I didn’t enjoy her all the time, but I figure now looking at it, that’s because she needed to grow up and develop a bit. She was definitely turning into a very good anti-hero. I admit,  I couldn’t help but love the last line of the synopsis, “It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.” It presents such a conflicting idea in the human morals. She has been terribly wronged and how else is she really supposed to feel.
It also presented her as a dark character. That made things interesting. I wasn’t dealing with some damsel in distress that was “oh so sad” because life had been “oh so cruel”. She wasn’t a character to be pitied, not really. She was dark and violent. And she learns to enjoy it at times. A decent anti-hero with some interesting events to undertake. I wanted more and hopefully I’ll find more in the second book. uyzke8y

Teren on the other hand  I did not, do not and don’t plan to like. Of course whenever I get to the second book, Rose Society,  I could be proven wrong. He was just never developed right. I needed to know more to not just dislike him for basically being a dick and acting high and mighty. He got lucky and unlucky at the same time.  I could hardly find pity for him, not to mention his blackmailing really sucked. That was also when Adelina proved to be really stupid.

I hated the blackmail. It was overrated and not done very well. I found a solution to it all really easily and that disappoints me a lot. I understand authors trying to cause frustration in readers. There’s a difference between being upset about a character being blackmailed and being able to find the blackmail loophole far too easily. So this went on for most of the book and happened to be annoying, for most of the book.

Then there’s Enzo. I loved him quite a bit. He was interesting, well thought out, well planned and fit well with Adelina. I found the relationship they formed was really good and just fitting, despite Adelina’s darker tendencies. He knew they were there and he embraced her nonetheless. He was able to bring out a better side. And he was there to help her after all. I wish to know so much more about him.

The writing! It was great! Marie Lu did a great job, especially when it came to Adelina’s powers. I was captivated every time Adelina used her powers. They weren’t an easy depiction to make either. But Lu portrayed them flawlessly and I was absorbed by how it brought out Adelina and her characteristics to the fore so well. giphy

Meanwhile the plot? It was fairly original, because the idea was. But it could have been done better in my mind. There were a few cracks. Some things that seemed rushed and that should have happened differently. The climax though was sharp, thrilling and revelations were better than ever. It was the progress I suppose I didn’t like. Although I haven’t gotten to it yet, the Rose Society will be read because of where Lu left it all off. I need to know more, so she did a good job there. There were just all those little things that I couldn’t deal with.

I think that’s all I’ve got for now. So the second book’s review will come someday. Any different thoughts on this book? Agree, disagree? Let me know!

Until next time,

Shayla

 

Leave a Reply

