Behind The Books

This post was inspired by Daily Post’s word prompt Understanding

quote-by-w-somerset-maugham

I feel like this is something that can be easy to forget. Whether you remember it’s happening or the book and its events sweep you away. But I want to take a step back into what’s behind the books. How a truly good book in any genre, will have much more for you than an entertaining story. It will give you more and leave you with a gift if only you know how to find it. This, is why books and writing are held so dear to me.

I find certain books really do make a mark. They gave me more than characters and plot. They gave me lessons, perspectives and something so much more.

For example, as a young girl growing up, Stargirl by Jerri Spinelli where I learned a simple phrase that unbeknownst to me at the time, has changed my perspective on how I look at myself and the world. 32419cbe51a06b166158e0d54b5b9cb0

Then more recently, A Court Of Mist And Fury. A lesson to dream and keep dreaming even in the darkest times in life. You don’t need to be magical to relate to Feyre. To understand her pain in quotes like “I’d broken myself apart. And I didn’t think even eternity would be long enough to fix me” to the development of “To the stars who listen — and the dreams that are answered” where not letting the hard days win takes on a whole new meaning.

I can’t forget Messenger of Fear either for it’s lessons in the dark and of a world not quite as pretty as normal fantasy. It is dark and honest, showing you the worst and best of people and that honesty struck me and will stay with me for a long time.

All of these are books with meaning for me. Of course everyone’s will differ.
I guess with this post I want to recognize the beauty that books are able to hold, more than a different world to go to, which is already pretty spectacular, but teaching us what we might never have learned before.

So here’s the advice to authors and aspiring writers like myself because this is what I hold in the utmost importance. Make your book, your writing, something more. Leave something behind it all, a lesson, advice anything for those right readers to find some day.

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

