Review: Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski

21399241SECRETS.
SCANDALS.
ESP.

We weren’t always like this. We used to be average New York City high school sophomores. Until our homeroom went for flu shots. We were prepared for some side effects. Maybe a headache. Maybe a sore arm. We definitely didn’t expect to get telepathic powers. But suddenly we could hear what everyone was thinking. Our friends. Our parents. Our crushes. Now we all know that Tess is in love with her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That, um, Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper.

Since we’ve kept our freakish skill a secret, we can sit next to the class brainiac and ace our tests. We can dump our boyfriends right before they dump us. We know what our friends reallyย think of our jeans, our breath, our new bangs. We always know what’s coming.

Some of us will thrive. Some of us will crack. None of us will ever be the same. So stop obsessing about your ex. We’re always listening.

4 stars

It did not take me much time at all to start and finish this book. I have to admit to some decent judging of the other cover of this book. Pretty sure the one I put up here is the UK cover, my version is too girly and immature.
Nonetheless, with a strong recommendation and review from a fellow book lover, plus a sale at Chapters I decided to give the book a shot.

This book was short and sweet for my regular read length somehow even at 317 pages. The font was bigger so I’m not sure it really counted for that many pages. Then again, that font allowed me to just dive in and finish within hours with the necessary breaks in between with that thing called school. Work too. So I had this thing finished fast, after just buying it. Go me! One less on my read list for the summer I suppose. That also means room for more. Anyways, to the book.

More than ย anything else, this book was entertaining. The characters were enjoyable. Some were incredibly stupid and annoying, but they were meant to me. I liked that part. Every character was different, had their own quirks and problems. They were decently developed. So just as is with regular people, nobody is going to like all of them. For me, that meant I really enjoyed Olivia, thought Mackenzie was a self-absorbed bitch and had a love-hate relationship with Pi. Others will agree or disagree.
Either way, it made the story all the more interesting because they all get stuck into this situation together and suddenly know each other a lot more and in depth than they ever would have otherwise. Gives a good and quick lesson on the fact that we never truly know other people, unless of course we suddenly have the ability to read each others minds. That of course changes things around.

Now let’s talk about the idea for a plot the author came up with. I liked it. Simple yet interesting while not entirely believable. Who knows maybe it could happen. Maybe I’ll start getting flu shots, not really, needles are not my thing.
Either way it goes back to what I said earlier, it was entertaining. Because that is really the most this book was able to be for me.

You see, I feel as though this is a book much better for younger than seventeen. Preteen and even younger maybe would enjoy this a lot more. So that is how I’m basing my review. The characters work. The plot makes sense. Character growth is really good. All of those things are great. But already from other reviews I can tell it’s not for older, mature readers. Much less of a YA and more preteen for sure.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it. I finished it. I enjoyed the book. I loved characters. The fact that I was able to while thinking it was a young read already says something. I applaud this author’s writing. The “we” idea was absolutely brilliant. I did not think I would like it. But it was added in just so smoothly and made such an interesting kind of sense that I had to enjoy it. So I will still recommend this book for a quick, good read and a nice sit-down.
That’s all though so,

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

