Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

23174274If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

5 stars

Five torturous, ecstatically in disbelief, ragingly book hungover stars

Does that sum up this review? Because I don’t know how on earth I am going to write it considering how book hungover I still am at the moment. Why do authors do this to me?! tvuixcp

It’s mean!

tumblr_midom1g8nu1r4okq9o1_500

My face right there ^ yup that’s pretty much it because that’s how I was finishing this. I was blank and weird and emotional and dying.

You see, there’s this thing that happens to me every once and awhile with some books. It’s always the other, their fault, they somehow do this to me. You see, I find myself usually pretty open to the emotions of characters and when a writer is so good. I literally end up drawn into those emotions and with Glass Sword, I was swallowed up slow and steady, quicksand that I didn’t even notice was there basically. quicksand

Moving on from the I’m dying inside stuff and onward to the what the hell is doing it to me.

Characters!
Mare continues to be a unique character, someone I have never seen before and can never truly comprehend. She was everything she possibly could be and made the story so amazing. It wouldn’t be right without her because Mare is of course a character on the verge of being an anti-hero. Now there’s that unique part again, on the verge. Literally as the story goes a long we witness these transitions of who she is and what she’s becoming. It’s always in the simple lines with Aveyard I find, where I see little messages about who she could be, because even now I feel like it’s so much up in the air. With lines like,

“To my eternal shame, I shake my head. “No, I can’t””

and,

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass,
and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

There is just so much! The characterization and the foreshadowing it. These lines sit there in the book and taunt me to think and wonder and feel. Feel, because that is what I could not avoid, just like Mare. Mare struggles so much and is put down again and again because she can’t do everything right. I think that fact is what got to me the most in this book. It hurt actually because it’s a very real sentiment. And that is what I want from my reads and in my own writing.

Then the other characters are constantly making me second guess too. I didn’t get to know them all as much as I wanted to admittedly, but at the same time I feel as though that’s the point because that’s what it is for Mare.
Cal though. My mixed feelings because his situation kicks me in the gut. By far he and Mare together are just phenomenal in characterization, development and being real. Bravo Aveyard, I can’t let go of these two anytime soon.

The plot. Now, you see the plot in this one, was better than the first. It got to the point much more efficiently. I was pulled in. I needed to know. I was guessing and second-guessing. And not to mention those plot twists! Holy shit! Aveyard is a crazy, cruel author and you will all agree with me. But that was of course the best part. I’m reading and reading trying to figure it out, off my seat, trying to decide what I actually want to happen and dying along the way. Otherwise I will shut my mouth before I spill and make this into a spoiler review.

shutup

Shutting, shutting and continuing on.

Altogether, even if you weren’t particularly keen on the first book, I highly recommend continuing because it is so worth it. Beyond any doubt. To the very end, especially that ending because I guarantee I will be sitting at the edge of my seat waiting for the next book. (Until I break out of the book hang over with a new book and try to forget about that horrible waiting period of course).

Then to the new beginnners, go ahead and check out the series, for my review on the first book check it out here, Red Queen 

Until next time,

Shayla

One thought on “Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

