Review: Moon Called – Mercy Thompson #1 by Patricia Briggs

71811Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy’s next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy’s connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water…

This is the kick-off to my Patricia Briggs Month go at reviews and talk. Using the idea from the blog with my friends from before where the others had an Armentrout Month

5stars

Have I mentioned before that reviewing a series AFTER I’ve read the entire thing is much more of a pain. Because I know all the picture now except for the book(s) that haven’t come up yet and I try my very best to keep my stuff spoiler-free. But this is a series I love to pieces so how on earth do I not talk about all the other wonderful things that make this book even better once you reread it. I am struggling here people. tumblr_inline_o3ct5jgepr1qbpjtc_500

Well there’s that quick rant to start off this post with a bang. Kind of, I guess…the flashing of my own gif is now distracting me though. Oops. Scrolling.

How do I start out a review for such an amazing book and series. Seriously Briggs, you are not a nice woman for the sole fact that you made Mercy so wonderful, because she’s not real. And I want someone like her in this world. Let’s face it, people could use a nice little kick in the rump and that’s something Mercy is so great at handing out. She’s one of those characters that I start reading about and immediately came across that beautiful feeling of: giphy

Mercy if just that character, in so many ways. She’s strong, independent, smart and fierce as all hell. Love her to bits and she has become quite the role model. Exempting the times where she’s in life threatening danger, as all good heroines tend to do at times. Although even then, she reacts in ways I love and admire. Who and what she is in this story is absolutely amazing and I believe she’s without a doubt a character you want to experience this world through.

Moving on of course to ‘this world’. Briggs brought us into a world much like our own, but where Fae are in movies and werewolves and other things remain in the night. Not all of them are evil, like Mercy with her own magical abilities, but those that are, need to be watched. And the ones that slip notice are who strike danger into Mercy’s world in this book. Sometimes, the evil is sitting write around the corner. That is one lesson I learned very quickly reading these books. And not always is it so black and white. There are always reasons for people doing things. So wait, and be open.
In Mercy’s mind in particular, it’s important to be very open to the world in general. Then again she’s friends with a vampire and talks to ghosts. She learns to be understanding. It’s the mean people that dislike who and what she is that teaches her to be strong and quick on her feet. More than anything, it’s that disadvantage as some might call it, of not being a werewolf that makes Mercy’s world so great. In a world a powerful creatures, she seems and appears mediocre, but proves all the things that go bump in the night wrong time and time again. This world, does not even know what a damsel in distress is, if they did, Mercy wouldn’t be close to one. She’d be helping rescue them. Still, it manages to be realistic in the sense, that no matter who you are, there will always be someone out there better and stronger. An important lesson handed out to near-immortal werewolves around human-like people like Mercy who know their weaknesses because they have no other choice.

Now that brings me right on over to the plot of this series. All of the characters we have here are quite amazing in all their own ways. Even in the future books, I haven’t found myself with a particular hatred for the antagonist except for two major exceptions. And those, excuse my language, motherfuckers deserve it. All of them were smart, cunning in their own ways and I couldn’t help thinking, ‘mkay, you have my respect, but I still want you killed’. Wee bit sociopathic, but I’m a writer too, I think we all are a bit. Anyways, go on and take a look at this series for the plot as well. In Moon Called we’re drawn right into what is happening and who everyone is. I also found what happens is never exactly what I’m expecting. So go Briggs becausegiphy1

I’m moving on to romance! I need to! And I will try my very, very best not to spoil further into the books. There is such a dynamic already between Mercy and our love interest, Adam that I loved them from the very beginning. They fit each other just far too well. Before they’re even together, these two are such a canon ship, no denying it.

Lines like these, how can you ignore, them?

“MS. THOMPSON, it said in heavy block letters, PLEASE KEEP YOUR FELINE OFF MY PROPERTY. IF I SEE IT AGAIN, I WILL EAT IT.”

I think it’s what follows this quote that makes me love it so much. The fact that he had been petting the cat because she smelt like him, remember, sharp noses in this book. Then,

“Mine,” he said.
Adam’s eyes narrowed. “I don’t think so. She is mine.”
It would of been flattering, I thought, except that at least one of them was talking about dinner and I wasn’t certain about the other.”

Showing Mercy in this dynamic quite nicely. They obviously are not in a relationship. But it’s in mind. And for the the first book, that’s all I care about.

I think that is all for now, wait for more on Mercy Thompson reviews and Patricia Briggs. Any thoughts on this series from other readers?

Until next time,

Shayla

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Moon Called – Mercy Thompson #1 by Patricia Briggs

  1. Pingback: July Summary

Leave a Reply

