Review: Blood Bound – Mercy Thompson #2 by Patricia Briggs

285205Under the rule of science, there are no witch burnings allowed, no water trials or public lynchings. In return, the average law-abiding, solid citizen has little to worry about from the things that go bump in the night. Sometimes I wish I was an average citizen…

Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places-and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shape shift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.

But this new vampire is hardly ordinary-and neither is the demon inside of him.

Briggs Month continues, check out my review of the first Mercy Thompson book here.ย 

Golden stars rating template isolated on white background.

Does anyone else ever get that feeling with a long series that they’re following along with this world, watching it grow and growing with it? Because I do and I love it. In particular though I have to say, every plot just begins to blur together. That is especially true with Briggs because each story connects to the last, making it all the better for it. A true flow of life, not the start and stop of story telling.

The action just grows and bites right at the bit in this one and I loved it the very end once again. In the second novel to the Mercy Thompson series the action takes a new turn that shows a new part of the supernatural world.

In the first book we met with the werewolves, including their fierce Marrok, alpha of alphas, Bran, and faced those politics. Briggs wove together a fantastic world then, she continued to stun again in this pick. Now, it becomes darker, sinister and a lot more bloody because yes, we’re taking a look into the vampires. But remember to be careful, because they don’t care much about keeping you alive. Their own motives are what matters and Mercy is learning that quickly as she settles in for some more action being thrust into her life. Not exactly happily, but there’s no way she’ll ever stand aside when lives are being taken one after another. By something that should never have existed in the first place.ย superbad-dramatic-music

I decided I sounded rather dramatic. So how else to amp up the drama, but with a gif. I think…Or maybe with something else like a dead body or missing persons? I’ll leave it.

Plot! My favourite part as mentioned above is the fact that this story flows right from the last, even with a time gap. It’s connected to the last one and actually Mercy would most likely be much less involved if not for the first book. For that on its own, I love Blood Bound and it’s what leads me to love the future books even more.
The tricks wound by Briggs into this one were done very nicely. Nothing was predictable really in my mind. It was fierce and attention grabbing. Not to mention a few heartstrings being pulled.
Did I mention don’t read if you’re a homophobe in the last one? No I did not. Because I shouldn’t have to.
Anyways, yes, heart. That poor, weird thing in my chest that authors love to destroy and throw around at their whims. Briggs is very good at that. Bittersweet talent for her to have I guess. But these books are so worth it.

Mercy hits it off again with her actions and decisions. Man it’s really hard to spoil this one because by the end of the book she kicks ass and does it without the giant ego of other heroes and heroines sometimes get. She’s humble and was actually more convinced than anything she’d end up dead. I feel like that’s how Mercy feels for the majority of these books.

Characters, ahhhh.ย rapunzel-dreamy-gifmedium_large-1456851346
So thankful because I continue to love all of them in their ways. Stefan in particular is a continued love for me. He’s one of the strongest vampires out there, and he drives a mystery machine, I mean how can you not like that. Then, there’s his in-depth loyalty that isn’t even strictly to Mercy. He’s an honourable person, much like Adam and for that I admire him time and time again. That is shown in this book a lot more when we get a chance to really see him and interact with him some more.

Of course, the antagonist in this book is actually one of my favourites. The guy is bloodthirsty and evil and has the umph behind him to back it up. I respect that. I also respect his manipulation when being manipulated. You will understand that comment once you read the book. So go, shoo little readers, go to Mercy’s world!

Until next time,

Shayla

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Blood Bound – Mercy Thompson #2 by Patricia Briggs

  1. Pingback: July Summary

Leave a Reply

