Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

5 stars

Five glorious, heart-wrenching and destroying stars.

I am in a state of absolute shock over this book. I don’t even know where to begin in all honesty. So I’ll explain where I’m coming from at the moment.
I just started this book today at work, during a boring open shift. First one I saw,had it sitting there in ibooks for awhile. I had already forgotten the synopsis. Of which I’ve now reread and am completely buggered over. And hitting myself over the head. I was not mentally prepared for reading this book. Nor will I ever be.

To start off, the book drew me in. It wasn’t exactly the character, or the plot. It was the writing style Lockhart used. Unique and honest are the two words I’ll use. From the way the main character, Cadence’s mind and thoughts work, to the descriptions. It was slow and mysterious, never really giving me an exact point behind what was going on. Nonetheless, I didn’t want to put it down and I wanted to know where it was going. Lockhart was amazing beyond doubt in that aspect.

Her characters though! Every single one. The descriptions that Cadence used, simple and descriptive. The way she did it,

“We are Sinclairs. Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liar. We live, least in the summertime, on a private island off the coast of Massachusetts. Perhaps that is all you need to know.”

It gave me these little pieces of people, to know about them. Things that Cadence knew, and maybe that was all she really knew about them too.
I mean, I didn’t like a lot of them in their own ways. Snooty, immature, arrogant, greed. You name it. All the flaws, Lockhart included them in here somehow. And made me ache for the characters anyways.

Then there is of course the plot. My precious plots oh how I hold you dear. This one, it will stay with me. Like I mentioned before, the draw I felt with this book was weird. The plot was too. (I hadn’t read the synopsis for awhile remember, I forgot it was suspense) I didn’t know where the author was going, what Cadence was going to reveal to me. The intrigue was deep and without end.
Then the plot twists! I never expected where it was going to go. The emotions. The feelings. Everything. I am beyond a doubt affected by this book in ways I can’t describe.

You see, there’s a little detail here I’m not telling you.

I didn’t like Cadence.

She’s spoiled and ignorant in my mind, and is honest about the fact that her family is too. It’s the way that was described though. The moments where she’s aware, where she sees that too. Sees the wrongness and glimpses something better for herself.

I began to like her.

She wasn’t perfect in any way, shape or form. It made her real, beyond a doubt. And her honesty made her hard to dislike.

Then things escalated. My thoughts were whirling and Lockhart got out of hand and destroyed my very soul. (Didn’t realize that thing was there) I mean gaaaah
That was me. Anger, happiness and the dreaded sadness.

There was something inexplicable about the way this book turned out actually. I can’t quite explain it, nor will I. It’s something for a reader to experience, whether it comes from this book or another one. Since all experiences are different as I’m sure many people have despised this book.

But I found, as I came to the ending and the suspense ignited to a fire, I was absorbed. I was taken right into it. Brought into the emotions and revelations. Then of course spat back out when I turned the page to the acknowledgements. It hit me hard and that among the other aspects, is what makes this a 5 star. A book needs to make you feel something, this one made me do more.

Now my mind is running a mile a minute. Dunno what I’m gonna do considering I’m finishing this at 1:02am and there’s no way I’m getting to sleep. Wish me luck and happy reading. And if you ask me about the ending, I will, indeed, lie.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

9 thoughts on “Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. Pingback: July Summary

Leave a Reply

