Review: Moonlight (Dark Guardians #1) by Rachel Hawthorne

3567200I see him and I know what this turmoil inside of me means: He’s the one. My forever.

Kayla is the nature lover, the all-American beauty who can’t understand why she’s so drawn to distant, brooding Lucas. Adopted as a young child, she has no way of knowing that she’s inherited a terrifying-and thrilling-gene that will change her life forever.

Lucas is dangerous, gorgeous… and a werewolf. As leader of the Dark Guardians, shape-shifters who gather deep within the state park, he has sworn to protect his pack. But when Lucas finds his true soul mate, his love could put them all in harm’s way.

As Lucas and Kayla struggle with their feelings for each other, a greater danger lurks: Humans have discovered the Dark Guardians and are planning their destruction. Kayla must choose between the life she knows and the love she feels certain is her destiny.

2.5 stars

Suffice to say, books are hell-bent on disappointing me write now. This is two in a row. I think that’s the book world giving me a big ol’ screw you for putting off blogging. Well I’m not putting them off now so I’d appreciate some good books now.

Honestly I need to get this review done and over with so I can erase this and the last one from my mind forever.

It started out good! giphy2

Okay, I didn’t like the prologue. It revealed a tad too much and not very well at that. I kept reading though because I’ve wanted to read a good, werewolf book where they don’t grow up knowing they’re one.

I liked the writing style and I liked the main character Kayla. She was heart-felt nice and not completely caught up in her past although now that I’m in a bad mood, it was brought up too much. If an author is good, they can depict a characters past just once. and if it’s well written I guarantee it’s going to stay with the reader. They won’t forgot and it can shape the character either really well, or horribly, depending on which their goal is. Hawthorne wasn’t able to do that though, so she had to bring it back up again. And again.

Anyways. The beginning. I liked her, I liked what was being hinted to, although once again, the author was unable to pull off being mysterious about it. Subtlety was not her thing by any means whatsoever. I didn’t really care because I was just looking to enjoy a quick, cute read. And honestly that’s what this is. IF you’re not like me and looking for critiques mid-writing. You have to focus heavily on the good parts before anything else.

The biggest struggle? Was actually the time-line. I came in expecting the book to  take place over the summer. Instead it ends within a single hiking trip. Tell me that wasn’t disappointing. I wanted more. Of character building, relationships all of it. The author really jumped the gun on this book and that made it harder for me.

It’s obvious who the love interest is, and I really do like him. Did. Until the last quarter of the book rolled around. And this is where I can’t keep the spoiler because this is one of my biggest pet peeves. Saying “I love you” way too soon. I hate it with relationships in real life and in the book world. It’s stupid and annoying. All it does is make the characters immature all over again. So that happens.

Then we got sexist all of a sudden. Because female werewolves won’t survive the change without a male to help her. Meanwhile the males are all good on their own. Then, Hawthorne makes Kayla’s shift like nothing. No screaming anything, completely underrated and bittersweet.

The mate thing was out of proportion too. giphy3

Just no. No. They’re teenagers. They don’t need to commit to somebody for life quite yet. So shush up and just take it out of the story. It had potential too be cute. It became lost on me though.

Kayla had guts though, I’ll give her that. The beginning of the book was amazing and I was happy to continue on. Then about half-way through it just went downhill and wasn’t planning on getting better anytime soon. The werewolves and their world weren’t well enough developed. The oath bit was silly and juvenile. Very little good to it. Nice concept. Bad presentation.

Once again, I have come to a book that leaves me disappointed. I’ll be cutting myself back off from the werewolves for now unless anybody has more promising recommendations. Honestly, this reminded my of a story on wattpad or quotev more than anything. I’ve read fanfiction that deserve to be published a lot more than this.

gg2
On that negative note, I think that’s all I’ve got left in me.

Until next time,

Shayla

One thought on “Review: Moonlight (Dark Guardians #1) by Rachel Hawthorne

  1. Pingback: July Summary

Leave a Reply

