Review: The Problem With Forever by

26721568For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

4 stars

Hmm, how do I begin?

Let’s say, Armentrout is definitely an author I’ve had mixed results with, that’s for sure. Because I was utterly disappointed after reading Frigid. This was a much better turn of events.

There are many things that can make this book remarkable. Admittedly and sadly though it is not my favourite or most memorable read of all times. It will however be a book that will no doubt stay with me.

The biggest struggle for me with some books is interest. I’m the type who loves paranormal because they make the world something other. Makes it different and better than how I usually, pessimistically, view it. That means in the past I’ve had very little patience for anything without magic and nightmares wondering the book world. That is changing. This happens to be just one of those books in which I’m turning my interests to more.

The best thing about this book, the hook that had me securely, was the main character and her struggle with the past.
Everybody struggles with something. We all know that. But I feel that we, or at least I, tend to forget that. It quickly became important to me to read something so well thought out and precise.

Mallory was a character that was just that, thought out, real and very mature in her thinking. Of course maturity is always another important factor because, well, immaturity tends to annoy me more than anything. In this case it wasn’t even maturity. It was the development, the past behind her and everything that goes with it. I found in The Problem With Forever a story of growth and change that was more mental than anything. It was about Mallory moving on, being more than just her past and the aspects of that, and other things as well, really spoke to me. I was touched on a personal level where Mallory became real. Her story drew me in and I wanted to see where it would end. That was an important figure for me with this book.

Armentrout delivers several messages throughout, most I’ll keep quiet about since this is a spoiler-free review after all. One certainly did stick with me. This one though, is important as well,

“It was all about trying, and that was what I would do. I would try.”

So in terms of characters, Armentrout left me beyond words. They were fantastic and made the story what it was.

The plot was simple, thought out and gave the lessons she wanted the reader to receive. I loved the delivery and it will definitely stick with me. Not to forget, the overall idea of a character afraid to speak due to an abusive past and coerced behaviour. Mallory was a beautiful character to read about. She’s not your average heroine that’s going to take the evil things by storm, loud and heard. But she seems to be a hero nonetheless.

The romance in this was pleasant. I liked the relationship between the two and I was excited to see it develop. Sadly, the full development didn’t hit until the end. But it was worth it. I was happy and they were cute. Pleasing romance, I’m not complaining.

I think that’s all for now though. This reading spree is not over hopefully so more reviews should be on their way. Just a matter of me not procrastinating my life away and actually writing them.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

 

One thought on “Review: The Problem With Forever by

  1. Pingback: July Summary

Leave a Reply

