Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

17455585One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne… it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

3.5 stars

Armentrout has now caught my attention with this book and The Problem With Forever. I didn’t have a lot of faith after the first book by her I read, Frigid. I love being proven wrong about a book being bad. Any day. It’s so much better than reading a shitty book.

Anyways. I’ll be honest here because for most of the book, this was more of a three star.

The plot was moving steadily, it seemed unique even while going off the age-old apocalypse theme. The way to get to said apocalypse wasn’t very original either, sad for me to say. However, I liked it. The biggest reason? That’s probably Roth and Armentrout’s depiction of him. tumblr_mjp6mcu9gb1rwx83mo1_500

I can’t help it! He was witty, hilarious and not to mention sexy as hell. Also, he’s a demon. I have an interesting tendency to lean towards the bad guys. He is a hot anti-hero at its finest and damn I have no complaints. Definitely want more of him and Layla. (And what’s with me reading books lately with character’s names rhyming with mine?…) So in terms of romance? 5 stars. Roth hit every right note for me to like and enjoy reading about him. He and Layla were funny and just so natural with one another. To Layla’s surprise as well.

So many lines between them just had me cracking up and falling in love with their story.

“If I say thank you, will you go away?”
“Yes”
“Thank you” I said eagerly.
“I lied”
“What?” I looked up at him, frowning. “That’s messed up”
Jennifer L. Armentrout, White Hot Kiss

 And,

“For the love of all unholy things, why must you be so difficult? I apologized for calling you a prude. I’ll even apologize for yesterday. I scared you. I threw your cell in a toilet. See, I was raised in Hell. You could say I’m socially awkward.”
Jennifer L. Armentrout, White Hot Kiss

I can’t help myself with his charm. Loved every bit of him and their interactions. That is why I can’t wait for the next book to the series.

Otherwise, since I should be done discussing the hot as hell (…) demon boy from the book world, let’s talk the other characters.
Layla was…interesting. For the situation she was in, she was a pretty reasonable character. She wasn’t too immature and despite what could be believed, she wasn’t naive. She wasn’t blind. Her ability to see the good in people when I as a reader had doubts was kind of funny, because she was right. Not used to that one being turned on me.
The supporting characters in this were all well put together. They had enough depth and emotion. Not-so-much the humans, but that’s not too surprising. This book isn’t centred on us normal people.

Now as I said earlier about the plot. It was based off of an old idea, with sacrifice and ritual and yada yada yada. Not much new. The Warden gargoyles? I liked that take. I’ve watched a movie about gargoyles being guardians before. Liked the idea then, I still like it now. Armentrout did a decent job with it.

For the majority, I’d say this book was entertaining. That’s not to say it doesn’t have anything important to say. Armentrout has a good trick of characters saying and learning meaningful things and making them into something. I appreciated that in this book because all lessons learnt were for Layla and they were ones she needed.

When it comes down to recommendations?
Anyone who enjoys paranormal and is looking for a good read in that genre, I say give it a shot. I’m not guaranteeing you’ll love it. This seems to me like it’s a book you have to be in the mood for. I mean, I finished it in a total of maybe 3 sittings. It was quick, efficient and as I said before, entertaining. The mythical world it introduces won’t bore you. And even better, the love triangle isn’t stupid as hell. I am one of those people that wants to rip my hair about when a love triangle comes into play. Can I say stupid and annoying as hell? I will.

So if anything, take a swing at it. If you don’t finish oh well, but it’s a book to give a chance to. More than anything, make it to the ending. Because that one shot me through the heart.

Until next time,

Shayla

3 thoughts on “Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: July Summary

Leave a Reply

