Opinions and Advice

This topic came up for me when talking to my friend Emily while she was planning a post. Unsurprisingly, she was worried about offending people, which I’ve worried about time and time again as well, frustrating as that is for me. Sometimes I can get away from things, but this time it bothered and inspired me all at the same time.

So I decided to share the advice I gave to her and discuss the entire thing with ‘opinions’ here and now. I figure it’s always a good thing to bring up when I am fairly opinionated.

The thing I want to start on immediately is the entire idea of offending someone with your opinion and this is also where I find lines blur a lot. I believe in speaking your mind and having the right to do that. Everyone has that right. But I have to say, when your opinion is hindering and insulting the rights and beliefs of others, then you’re doing something wrong. This has happened within my own family. Where I barely bother sharing my opinion anymore because the fact is, it doesn’t align with theirs, so they don’t want to hear it. I don’t share my insights anymore. That’s the end of that story.

But here are the facts as I see it when you give out your opinion.
You won’t start conflict, others will. That’s one thing to settle in your mind, or try to at least. Whenever I talk about an even slightly controversial topic I’m very nervous about offending somebody, but the fact is, somebody can always get offended, by something as simple as a rating I make on a book. But they’re the ones who don’t respect my opinion when they start something about it all.

One person believes something, then someone else believes another. That is a given fact of life. People supporting Trump in America for example. I heavily disagree, but there is no point in getting worked up or offended because it won’t make a single difference if they don’t want to hear it.

There’s one other very important thing I’ve realized lately about giving your opinion. A much more positive side to it at that.

What if there’s someone out there sharing your opinion, but feels like they’re wrong because others disagree. Then they read your post and suddenly something feels better. Someone else shares their opinion and more, understands it. Just anybody out there, getting the chance to connect to it and not feel alone. I think the chance of helping somebody is worth the chance of offending someone through and through.

Just a reminder and hopefully a help to those out there reading.

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

