The “I Messed Up” Book Tag

Thanks for the tag from Michelle @ Addictively Turning Pages I loved reading yours and this is going to be interesting I hope.


 

A character appearance that you misread or imagined differently

…Considering it’s a character appearance that I missed I no doubt have more than I realize so let me think this one through. Cause I’m really not sure about this…

Wait I remember one now! Nehemia from the Throne of Glass series. I kind of pictured her either as one of those golden brown haired girls with tanned skin or I went in the opposite direction with white hair. Nope turns out according to Throne of Glass Wikia she has dark hair kept in small braids, brown eyes and dark skin. Wayyyyy off there Shayla.

In my defence though, I have a habit of switching the way I imagine them pretty often actually, especially when it comes to re-reading. As I re-read, I re-imagine as well.

A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong

Rhysand. Again we are back to Sarah J. Maas, lady you are killing me! It’s pronounced Rees-sand meanwhile I pronounce the beginning like rise so rise-and. I can’t help it! Don’t even bother me about having a rant about this book and then tripping over the name.

Then give me a name like Adelina Amouteru  from the Young Elites series and I am perfectly fine. Not a single hitch
giphy1

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure

“I don’t have one of those” — lies! All lies!

I have a few no doubt, but of course once I’m trying to think about it; I can’t. There are two though that easily come to mind.

The bad boy. Man do I love me a bad boy. I don’t what it is, but them being a total ass for others and softening up for that one person is something I adore.

The best friend turned lover trope. I’m sorry. It’s horrible, but this is my all time favourite. It brings so much more to a relationship when there’s the time when they weren’t romantically involved. I love the transitioning too. Especially when it’s hot and sexy.

A cliché character that you like better on screen than reading about

Shit…you see not too many books I read turn into movies. I mean, I read Twilight, Hunger Games, City of Bones… Potentially I liked the Clary better on the movie screen than in the book. In the TV series? I only watched that shit for Magnus and Alec. I hated that Clary. But honestly it’s been so long since I read that book that I can’t say for sure how much I liked her anymore.

A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book

People, this one can’t be answered because my vocabulary IS the books I’ve read. The majority of phrases or words  I use come from the books I’ve read or the shows I’ve watched. That is how it is, no other way around it…pretty sure that came from a book. 200_s

Point taken? Maybe, maybe not.

Have you ever not read or completed a required-reading book for school?

yupgif

Two actually, both just last year. The first one of the books was A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen. I read the first 10 maybe 13 lines then quit. It was that awful. Meanwhile there was also Persepolis later on in the semester. I just never even started that one. I only had to do a quiz and a study thing for the first book and I aced both soooo. No lesson about that being wrong getting taught here.

More like the better you know how to bullshit in high school the better off you’ll be .

Have you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in? 

Yes, yes I have. Multiple times and in multiple books. I haven’t in some of those cases out of the necessity to understand what was going on. I couldn’t bare losing hints in the book to my impatience I guess.

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

Not cancelled per se but definitely avoided. For me it’s been more of a, they invite me to come out and I just kinda sit there like, giphy2
I need to know what happens next in the book. So as far as they are concerned I’m busy. More recently with the friends I hang around now instead of say elementary school. I just tell them flat out I want to read or I just read while out with them. They love me for it and are book worms as well so it works haha.


 

People I’m Tagging

Hope you guys enjoyed reading and have fun doing it as well!

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

