Review: Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh

3819326Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows she is the best- but she does not know if even she is good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, Elena knows failure is not an option—even if the task is impossible.

Because this time, it’s not a wayward vamp she has to track. It’s an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor’s edge of passion. Even if the hunt does not destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just might. For when archangels play, mortals break.

4 stars

I made a mistake.

So…you see when I write reviews, I try and do one book before I start another. Within three days I am on the eighth book of this series…
tumblr_n7045fez0x1smcbm7o1_250

So now I’m taking a little pause since there’s only one book left for me until the next book comes out in November. Rammed myself headfirst into the wait. Real smart Shayla, real smart, you go girl. Now I’m deciding hey this is a beautiful book so  Ireally do need to do my duty as a book lover and pass on my love for it to others. So now it shall be said. READ IT

It’s not a five star. But that’s because I’m picky about little details and don’t like giving fives away too easily. This one deserves it if not for my initial impression of one of the main characters, Raphael. He’s an ass, an inconsiderate, arrogant, controlling asshole of an archangel but one I am now very much in love with myself. So I forgive him. Because with this book, things need to be put into perspectives. You can expect some hard truths here that aren’t always easy to swallow and that’s what makes this series all the better.

So to start off we have our main character Elena. Elena is an amazing character. She’s stubborn and forthcoming, has her flaws and most importantly, refuses to bow down to anyone. Even when bowing down might keep her alive. It’s that strong will that brought me closer to her and let me keep reading when I was worried Raphael was going to be bordering on psycho and abusive. Trust me that is not the case.
As said, Elena holds her own through and through.

As for Raphael? He gets what’s coming.

I’m not sure how to structure this review because honestly it was everything about it. From the plot to the world to the creativity to the characters. Every aspect was brilliant. Oh and let’s not forget the writing style because Singh’s style is now one of my favourites.

I was drawn in, enraptured and thrown around for a loop.

One of the greatest aspects beyond a doubt was getting to know the world Singh has created. It’s much like ours except for one aspect. While humans still go about there lives, there are angels and beyond them, archangels ruling the world with iron, and sometimes cruel, fists. Let’s not forget the vampires that you’ll learn about and understand as the world comes together. The take on vampires though gets a full five stars, it was simple, but new and original one I did not expect by any means. So the world caught my eye to put it simply.

Then the plot. Steady and building it was beautifully put together and always had the excitement going for it. I was extremely happy with the plot and how it came together, as I have been in all of the following books.

Now let’s not forget, the passion. Love love love. Elena and Raphael are a storm about to reach a peak and that peak is stunning. I love the way Elena stunned Raphael and made him cross into a mindset he’d thought long past him. While they still have a lot to work on in future books, the companionship and arguing in this one will remain a favourite. One things for sure, the only one who can handle Raphael, is Elena. Their chemistry was hot and sexy, enticing and just wow. I will reread just for their moments anytime, plot be damned…okay not really, but you get what I’m saying.

Then the other characters in the book. We don’t know all of who we will eventually, but all of them are stunning. There’s depth and thought put into everyone and that’s proven in the future books. Elena immediately of course proves to be a well put together heroine that has no time for people pushing her around, glamour and being the beautiful one. She’s got a job to do and that’s how it goes. Admirable is how I see her.

As recommendations go, it’s up there on the list. Any supernatural, fantasy readers looking for something more mature than what we find in the YA section, this is your read. Go for it and dive into this world. Of course I can’t guarantee you’ll like it. But the depth of this book is one I love and will enjoy for a long time. That’s my stand on it.

Until next time,

Shayla

 

 

One thought on “Review: Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh

Leave a Reply

