Pulling An All-Nighter

This was a thing for other kids right? When you were little having a time where your obsession was actually managing to pull an all-nighter? 

I swear I better not be the only one cause if not that really sucks for me. I don’t want to be alone in that obsession. Because while exhausting, it was a fun one.

Not sure what age category this goes into, ten might be the average with ages below and above? Sounds pretty good to me. I can’t remember when I had a thing for it exactly. Problem for me with memories, it all comes in pictures, no time stamps on them either.

Anyways, I can remember with friends this obsession for awhile where it was a common question. “Have you pulled an all nighter before?” And you always wanted to be able to say yes. Mine usually was “not yet”. Then probably around the age of ten I pulled one with one of my friends.

Now this memory is really odd. I swear we were sleeping in a family’s camper either in her backyard or mine. Either way it was awesome and we had it all to ourselves. I mean c’mon, what kid wouldn’t love that. That night though we were so fiercely determined. We were going to go all the way and stay up. I wish I remembered more about the night, which sadly I don’t. Pretty sure some Monopoly had to have been involved. Surprisingly enough, I know there was plenty of food, but no energy drinks. That would be cheating I guess.

Best part is that we did manage it. Right up until about 7 or 8 in the morning actually. Where we promptly decided we’d done it and had early morning naps. Still an all nighter of course. uyzke8y

So after that I was able to happily to say I’d done one…and never truly attempt it again.

There was one occasion though surprisingly enough a few summers ago. This was when Anime was a constant in my life and I watched the hell out of anything I liked. So one night I decided to go on a watching spree. I wish I knew how many episodes I watched. But all I know is I was sitting at my desk, looked over at my clock and went “Oh shit”.

Because it was 5 o’clock in the morning and my mom’s alarm for work was about to go off and I hadn’t even gone to bed yet. You can bet I got my quiet ass in gear turning off those lights and getting into bed. I don’t know how my mom would’ve reacted for sure. All I do know is that I didn’t want to know. I love my mom, but she is a scary woman.

On that note

Have you pulled an all nighter?
Was it an obsession for you when you were little?
Or was it for work or the like?
Lemme know!

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

