Back To School: Sweet Tooth & Wake Up Remedy

I understand that what I’m introducing is more commonly known as a Cafe Mocha. Except mine is made from home and specifically to the taste of who makes it. And it still works for me every time.

In the mornings every once and awhile I want and/or need that extra kick. Some days that means using the truck to drive myself to school and picking up a french vanilla from Tim Hortons (aka Timmys). Now that’s nice and all, but the cost certainly would add up.

I however happen to have several things in my household that make creating my own cafe mocha a pleasant and minutes long experience.
A nice Keurig machine. I could make the coffee from scratch. But I can click a button to have water boiled, put a little coffee pack in then voila I have half of my drink done. Soooo, I’m lazy, pretty obvious which I’ll go for.ย giphy1

So the next step involves an entire box of those coffee packets sitting in my mom’s closet. Sneak one of those out in the morning and place it in. As said before, half my drink is done. The next part involves one giant tub of instant hot chocolate mix. Giant tub because having it in bulk is a wonderful convenience I take for advantage. The steps are fairly simple as follows.

Place a kettle on high until the water boils. Using Keurig or other method, make coffee and place in cup. I use a mug meant for said hot beverage and put at least 2, maybe 3 spoonfuls on hot chocolate mix in the mug then in the sink (for spilling protection), pour the coffee made beforehand into the mug. Because it’s long I use a big spoon to stir it up and taste test. I’m very much a sweets person, not bitter, which causes the greatest conflict between coffee and myself. This means I almost always add in an extra spoon of hot chocolate stuffs. Then using water as mentioned, add in extra water as needed.

Remember to taste test.
The amount of hot chocolate used depends wholly on your sweet tooth. I have a bad one so my drink usually ends up more sweet and tasting more like the hot chocolate. To hide the bitter, but give me the extra kick to get going in the morning.

Do you have any sweet tasting coffee drinks you do homemade style?
Please share! I need more coffee.

Until next time,

Shayla

Leave a Reply

