Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

25111004Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

3 stars

Can I say mixed feelings or what?

I wish Michelle and I recorded the debate we had on the bus ride about this book.
—And I’m gonna say awkward because I wrote that sentence three months ago and no longer remember the entirety of my plans for this post. I will however continue to recap this debate…although not sure how that’s going to go.—

I will say, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A contemporary new adult romance that I would not otherwise read because I’m still walking through the contemporary genre and getting a feel for it. I must say though, Hoover most certainly does not disappoint. This book was intriguing, entertaining and a wonderful take on the reality of young love. My favourite line,

“You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”

So true and so often overlooked by people. Some other aspects to this books however steered me away from giving it a higher star review which are more personal than anything. As such as say now, do not let the rating deter you from reading this book, I’d like to say it’s still very much worth the read. As most Hoover books are it seems. Both Maybe Someday and Ugly Love were great books that shook my reading world as well.

For me it was the underlying message behind the main character Fallon that I didn’t always like. She was an amazing character with great character development. IT was what I found was a dependency on Ben that bothered me. It seemed to me that the changes she made to herself and her life were wholly dependent on his influence in her life. For me, this was ridiculous and silly, sure some support is nice, but don’t jsut let yourself fall down between the cracks and wait for someone else to tell you to pick yourself up. Be self-aware, take a look around and start working on your own. It was that character flaw that really ruined Fallon for me. Otherwise though I think I’ll focus on the good stuff at the moment.

The messages and themes in this book like the quote above. Those little things giving readers something to think about, to consider. Some other favourites for the life lesson quote lovers out there,

“Goals are achieved through discomfort and hard work. They aren’t achieved when you hide out in a place where you’re nice and cozy.”

“It’s easy to fall in love, Ben. The hard part comes when you want out.”

More than anything of course would be Hoover’s creation of her characters. While Fallon most certainly wasn’t my favourite, she and Ben still made quite a pair. Their quirks and flaws lovely and the best of them wonderful. Besides that, the sparks of romance between this pair and the setup of the story just made it all the more interesting.

“Don’t stop” I tease in a seductive voice. ” Give me more, Ben. Did you read eBooks or…” I run my finger slowly down his chest.”Hardbacks?”
He pulls his hands behind his head and a smug look washes over his face. “Oh, they were hardbacks, all right. And I’m not sure if you’re ready for this, but…I have my own TBR pile. You should read it, Fallon. It’s huge“”

I mean how could anyone resist with lines like that? Always leaving me wanting more. How cruel. gif-adorable-adorbz-aww-cute-excited-happy-so-cute-gif

So yes, this book definitely will have a lot of memorable lines and if you’re reading on iBooks like me, lots of bookmarks to keep these lines safe and well-remembered.

All in all? I still recommend this book despite my personal problems. Hoover continues to amaze and hopefully my next go at her book It Ends With Us will be just as memorable.

Until next time,

Shayla

One thought on “Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

