Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

11505797The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

2 stars

So this book…damn I wish I liked it better.  But I admit to thinking of it as yet another New Adult book that tried and failed. Tried what exactly? I’m not exactly sure. To give a message? Be adorable and romantic? Make you emotional? Perhaps all of the above.

I myself however thought it was a rollercoaster and coming from someone who loves rollercoasters to her very core? A very shitty rollercoaster that needed some remodelling in several ways.

I can say, this was a book I initially enjoyed reading, my impressions of the infamous Abby Abernathy were positive. A bad girl going good is usually not my thing, except that it was executed well and I understand the reasoning behind it and why it was important to Abby’s character development. So, not a book sin. However, despite my initial enjoyment, I ended this book emotionally exhausted. It was not a book hangover because those are bittersweet, the signs of a book to be remembered for years to come. This was just plain bitter.

When I use the term rollercoaster, it’s very true. They were up and down, around and around. Endlessly going from one extreme to the next once romance truly took a role in their relationship. I enjoyed them up until then, because after that it just wasn’t enjoyable.
First, Travis was possessive. There’s good and bad possessive when it comes to books. This was the bad, demeaning, “piss me off to the end of time” kind of possessive. Travis was a pain in the ass and beyond that, he could never listen. Not that Abby did a very good job of that, or listening for that matter either, but Travis is my current problem.
Then, the relationship build-up. Good…but way too short. This book goes until after New Years, but it takes less than a month for them to become friends and become obsessed with one another. He got tattoos…with her name on it…I disagree with that life choice. Tattoos are hot. A month into the relationship tattoos? Not so much. barack-is-not-impressed-barack-obama-9404599-300-230

Honestly the biggest problem that came from this book wasn’t even the timeline. It was the relationship. And it’s summed up well by characters in the book TWO different times.

“It’s dangerous to need someone that much. You’re trying to save him and he’s hoping you can. You two are a disaster.” I smiled at the ceiling. “It doesn’t matter what or why it is. When it’s good, Kara… it’s beautiful.”

And,

“I wish you and Travis would just get your shit together! You’re a goddamn tornado! When you’re happy, it’s love and peace and butterflies. When you’re pissed, you take the whole fucking world down with you!”

This was one of the books that three quarters through the book, I didn’t want them together anymore, especially after the second quote. Because it was true, and it might be exciting, but a love that destructive has never seemed like something I would want to be part of. Sadly, as this book was coming to a close, I wanted them to stay apart. A lesson learned to move forward in life with. Instead, they were together and I couldn’t find it in myself to agree with the decision.

For that, this book was ruined. I don’t think there were any good lessons in this book except for the first one. That: If something isn’t good for you, leave it. She returned to it running. Hopeless. Beautiful disaster is right, I just don’t find a lot of beauty in destroying someone you’re supposed to love.

Would I recommend this book? For the first time, not really no. There are so many more books out there that have what I feel are more worthwhile characters and lessons to be taught in an interesting way. Not to mention the plot holes because sweetheart I don’t care how tough you are, somebody isn’t going to not train and still not get hit in a fight no matter how hard they try. Like c’mon, give me a break.giphy

Until next time,

Shayla

One thought on “Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Leave a Reply

