DNF: Real by Katy Evans

17617277A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong—but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents…

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?


Read on iBook
Page 416 out of 852

This book had promise. I swear. It was a new adult. It was hot, sexy and hot damn Remington Tate was both of those things with a boxer’s body to boot. Add in your main character working as a sports physical therapist. Lots of intimate touching for a great excuse to get closer. It drew me in.

And then I ripped myself out halfway through.

He was possessive hard-headed and a dink.
She was obsessive, annoying and a dink.

He trains constantly and damagingly to his body. And has “urges” that his manages acquire whores for him to relieve his sex drive on because how could he ever go without. A mass obsession for Brooke that was unhealthy. To the point he trashed a hotel room drunk of his ass when he couldn’t find her; she was barfing in the bathroom. Then the ostracize themselves in a hotel room for several days. Except for reasons I cannot understand he refuses to have sex with her and also refuses to train. She’s extremely horny and so is he. No sex. Just ridiculous build-up and annoying flirting while they keep wanting to bonk like bunnies.
There’s sexy build-up and sexual tension and then there’s annoying and overly emphasized sexual tension. I apparently despise the latter. Gee, I wonder why. giphy1

I just…no. I don’t, I can’t. I don’t even know if any of that paragraph made any sense. But they were irritating. He was ridiculous and she was clueless.

Never will I go near this book again. It was painful.

Until next time,

Shayla

One thought on “DNF: Real by Katy Evans

Leave a Reply

