I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou

51pjx9dfunl-_sx301_bo1204203200_

This was not the book I expected to put here I have got to admit.
I began reading this initially as a challenge to take a deeper look at some non-fiction. Never finished it because I am far too distractible. Low and behold, this semester for english, it was one of the books we were going to be reading. In fact I just finished writing my in-class essay about it today. Talk about painful.

Either way. I have to admit. I did not like the book all that much after finishing it. I don’t know why, most likely because it’s an autobiography and fiction is much more my way in terms of books. But…then class time came around and thankfully there’s a pretty great group put together for that class. We’re IB so we tend to put effort in. So when it came down to it, the discussions we had were what made this into a much more profound book. It was as though the first read through I was only scratching the surface. This was definitely a book that required a lot more critical thinking than I otherwise use. Beyond a doubt, that’s necessary to have and be able to do.

So when it comes down to it. I shared a lot of the same ideas with Angelou in this book, and the journey of her childhood was depicted wonderfully by her and I will remember the messages she reveals to the reader for a long time to come.

Just what ever you do, don’t get me started on how some schools ban this book. Because holy fucked up is all I can say without going on a rant about it. That post may come, you never know.

Anyways, that’s this Friday’s favourite!

Have you read this book already? Was it something you enjoyed or not so much? Share your thoughts!

Until next time,

Shayla

2 thoughts on “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

