Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

27362503SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

5 stars

Just to begin, I’m changing things up in my reviews now so the way they’re written may be changed or different now, depending on how I like the changes, so if I’ll actually post them or not. They will remain spoiler-free for the beginnings, but an idea I saw from another blogger, I don’t remember which otherwise I’d put up a link to one of their reviews, sorry about that I was going around looking at a bunch of new blogs to follow at the time and it was just one thing that stuck with me. So anyways, from now on, my blogs will begin spoiler free and the other half will have spoilers. They’ll probably be more of a rant and there will be full warnings coming into the spoilers for those who want to avoid them.

That’s all I think, so let’s get this review underway.


My god this book was amazing!

General thoughts: 

I finished this book within three hours. That says it all. I put reading it off again and again even after Michelle let me borrow her copy. The reason? I was terrified. Michelle suffered a HUGE book hangover from this book , you can check out her review of It Ends With Us here. Anyways, I was terrified of the book hangover that might mean a reading hiatus. Which might’ve happened…I’m not sure yet I’m still in recovery. While I’m on the subject, any tips for book hangover recovery?

Another fantastic Hoover book, except this one went beyond my expectations, which is saying something. This book left me blank at the end. Not from not enough input, but from too much, so much to think about and all of the implications…I was stunned to say the least. And that simply does not happen often.

I can’t believe how much this book pulled me in. I mean I started reading a litter after 7:30 one night and was done after 10pm. That’s a record. I just couldn’t stop because as always Hoover’s writing is one to love and to fall right into. The story was going on its course and I had no choice but to join the wave.

Writing/Plot: 

As aforementioned, it was brilliant. I couldn’t stop reading and didn’t want to stop even when the book came to its end. Heartbreaking and wonderful at the same time. More than anything, the emotion it pulled from me was the best part by far. I am very attached to Lily and her character development was phenomenal. She’s such an amazing character that I loved reading about, not to mention Allysa, talk about wonderful best friend material.

As well, this was a mature read. My appreciation for New Adult and its growing genre gets higher every day. Well-written ones at least…I have too many to add to the DNF list because I couldn’t handle them. Reminds me of when I was eleven trying to write about teenagers in my stories, not bad for my age but more than cringe-worthy when I look back on them.

Then there’s those quotes! Hoover is one of those authors I’ve come to expect beautiful lines from. And here are some of them, that I don’t count as spoilers, more as encouragement to read this book and share in my hangover.

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

So many people should follow this kind of idea. I know way too many people that think one mistake makes them into a horrible person. Yes, there may be repercussions and fallouts. But how you deal with what you’ve done is ultimately what matters.

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

And the thought from before follows through into here. Particularly odd for me because I have never looked at it from this perspective. I’ve always found into the idea of good and bad people, which is silly when I despise black and white thinking. It’s still a trap I’m learning to get out of. There are grey areas everywhere.

Now that I have had the chance to look over some of my favourite quotes, this review is officially switching over to spoilers, because I cannot hold them in anymore. So:

spoiler-warning

STOP NOW IF YOU DON’T WANT SPOILERS

Okay…more quotes. I think I’m going to start this off with a comparison and then explain why it’s so important to me.

     “What about you?” Allysa presses. “Would you say yes if he proposed?”
I laugh. “Are you kidding me? Of course. I’d marry him tonight.”
Allysa looks over my shoulder at her bedroom door. She purses her lips together and tried to hide her smile.
“He’s standing in the doorway, isn’t he?”
She nods.
“He heard me say that, didn’t he?”
She nods again.

As we know, they got married that very night. And I loved every moment of it. Marriage is not my thing. But I wanted it for them in that moment. Very much. This is of course also where the story begins to take its turn because the abuse begins, accidental or not.

You might’ve noticed I kept that out of the spoiler-free review, because when Michelle recommended this book to me, she didn’t tell me about the abuse, just as she didn’t know about it when she read the book. And I’m following her lead. If I’d known abuse would come into play in this book, I feel my perspective of Lily already would’ve been altered. Because I adhered to the same idea as others on the outside. Why would you stay in an abusive relationship….

When the first scene happened, when Ryle hit Lily. I didn’t think run. I didn’t want her to run away like she considered, because I loved Ryle just like she did and I didn’t want the relationship to end because of an accident. And feeling that? Realizing that? That had an impact on me I can’t describe and is personal in a way I don’t want to explain. But it shook me. So this moment mattered to me,

“My brother loves you, Lily. He loves you so much. You have changed his entire life and have made him someone that I never thought he could be. As his sister, I wish more than anything that you could find a way to forgive him. But as your best friend, I have to tell you that if you take him back, I will never speak to you again.”

The support was phenomenal and the final decision. It broke my heart. It broke my heart because I knew it needed to happen, I wanted it to, but I didn’t want it to. That decision. Eleven words were all I needed to make this book into one of the best I’ve ever read.

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

*Deep breath* Okay I’ve gone on about this for much longer than I thought this was. So I’m going to move on to the final quote that I will forever love.

“You can stop swimming now, Lily. We finally reached the shore.”

Atlas’ character was beyond words. Who he was and his perspective. Was perfect. And the ending of those two together. I didn’t realize I really wanted it until it happened.

Okay. I think I need to stop, because I’m getting emotional. I didn’t cry after finishing the book, I am not crying now. Curse you Colleen Hoover. And I love you.

spoiler-warning

This book is going to stay with me for a long time to come. What about you guys? Was it a top read or not so much? Why? Let me know!
Still refusing to cry…

Until next time,

Shayla

One thought on “Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

