Review: The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski

20443207Book two of the dazzling Winner’s Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of country for love.

The engagement of Lady Kestrel to Valoria’s crown prince means one celebration after another. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement… if she could only trust him. Yet can she even trust herself? For—unknown to Arin—Kestrel is becoming a skilled practitioner of deceit: an anonymous spy passing information to Herran, and close to uncovering a shocking secret.

As Arin enlists dangerous allies in the struggle to keep his country’s freedom, he can’t fight the suspicion that Kestrel knows more than she shows. In the end, it might not be a dagger in the dark that cuts him open, but the truth. And when that happens, Kestrel and Arin learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

If you haven’t yet, check out my review of the first book to this trilogy:
Review: Winner’s Curse (Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski

4.5 stars

Holy shit, holy shit, holy shit. I am freaking out and do not know how to deal with it. Actually wait, I do know how to deal with it. I need to read the third book. Except that if I started reading it this review would never happen. I am dying inside and this review might be short. In case you haven’t read my review for the first book, check it out here.

I was literally reading on my bed, finished the book. Sat there going holy shit a few times before jumping onto my laptop to get this review written and for the sake of my very sanity it needs to be finished soon.

Wow wow wow. I am struggling to keep this spoiler free when I’m thinking of what to say in my head. My mind is a traitor full of spoilers that will kill you emotionally and leave you aching for more. So that sums up the emotional impact of this story really well I’d say.
This book did something I both love and hate. It makes you experience it. Rutkoski is amazing I gotta give it to her, because she caught me by the ankle in her first book and now I’m bound completely. No getting out until the story has played out. Hehe. Like Kestrel right? I have to see a story played out to its end, my struggle in awful books. And now my struggle in a story I know is going to break my heart.

I found the entirety of Winner’s Crime, I was waiting. I could feel something coming. All of the pieces being brought into play, their introductions, the manipulations and the tricks on the mind. Oh and the IRONY! So now I’m going on a tangent in my book frenzied mind. Arin, oh Arin how I love you but god dammit wake up. I don’t know if you were being too rational or too irrational or that you had just enough of both for your mind to be flayed and played tricks on so easily. The dramatic irony is intense and painful and I just want it to stop now please. Pretty please. rsi

Okay, deep breath. Leaving tangent. Okay. I’m good. THAT ENDING THOUGH.

Yea, I can’t continue this review. I’m leaving to read until this wears off.

56228525

I finished the third book. That rant will come. But yea. Finishing the book and sleep means 14 hours go by. Now hopefully I can finish this review in a calm and civilized manner.

Okay so it’s been more than 14 hours now. Oh well. I hid from this review by writing another review. Oops?

So where do I go with this now? Actually, rereading my previous rant, I think I covered as much as I feel needs to be covered for this book, after all the ending to the trilogy is the big piece. With that I believe I shall leave it at that. In terms of critiques I did find this story lagged a bit more, I wanted more strategizing from Kestrel, it was rather disappointing in that aspect, but not enough to ruin the trilogy for me.

Until next time,

Shayla

5 thoughts on “Review: The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski

    1. That’s awesome! Well you can go by my rating if anything, the 1st was 4 stars, 2nd 4.5 stars and while I haven’t finished the review for the 3rd yet, it will be a 5 star review. There each great in different ways. The final book beats them both though haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

